News Articles

47 SBC pastors call massive prayer meeting

SOUTHLAKE, Texas (BP) — A group of 47 Southern Baptist pastors is inviting senior pastors to participate in A Call to Pray for Revival and Awakening Sept. 30-Oct. 1 in Southlake, Texas.

Ronnie Floyd, senior pastor of Cross Church in northwest Arkansas, announced the 24-hour event today (Aug. 14).

“On behalf of our invitation team, I am inviting you to join us in a prayer gathering of senior pastors from all sizes of churches across America, for one purpose: praying together for revival and awakening!” Floyd said in a written statement. “We will focus on praying for pastors, local churches and our nation to experience a mighty move of God that will be a catalyst for revival and awakening.”

The team of pastors has committed to attend the event in its entirety, Floyd said.

“This is not a ‘come and go’ event or a place to ‘come and be seen,'” Floyd said, “nor is it a denominational or political meeting. It is a serious spiritual experience of prayer with pastors nationally. Due to our commonality of need, we are focusing on Southern Baptist pastors.”

Those not attending the event should pray nonetheless, Floyd said.

“Pray for us in that 24-hour period of time,” Floyd wrote in a letter to Baptist convention state executives. “We are in [a] desperate time. All of us want to see our pastors, churches and nation experience a mighty move of God.”

Floyd encourages pastors to register as early as possible due to a limited number of available rooms at the Hilton Dallas/Southlake Town Square, the site of the event. To reserve a hotel room, call the hotel at 800-445-8667 to receive the group rate. A $75 stipend is available to offset hotel cost, financed by a special gift from a supporter, whose name was not announced.

Registration is free by contacting Cross Church at 479-751-4523 or [email protected]. Information is available at http://eepurl.com/DNIFH

Joining Floyd on the invitation team are, in alphabetical order, senior pastors John Avant, First Baptist Church Concord in Knoxville, Tenn.; Bart Barber, First Baptist Church in Farmersville, Texas; Kie Bowman, Hyde Park Baptist Church in Austin, Texas; Mac Brunson, First Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Fla.; Matt Carter, Austin Stone Community Church in Austin, Texas; Michael Catt, Sherwood Baptist Church in Albany, Ga.; Frank Cox, North Metro Baptist Church in Lawrenceville, Ga.;

Bill Elliff, The Summit Church in North Little Rock, Ark.; Ernest Easley, Roswell Street Baptist Church in Marietta, Ga.; Grant Ethridge, Liberty Baptist Church in Hampton, Va.; Jonathan Falwell, Thomas Road Baptist Church in Lynchburg, Va.; Danny Forshee, Great Hills Baptist Church in Austin, Texas; Bruce Frank, Biltmore Baptist Church in Arden, N.C.; Steve Gaines, Bellevue Baptist Church in Memphis, Tenn.; David Galvan, New Life Church in Dallas; Blake Gideon, Edmond’s First Baptist Church in Edmond, Okla.; Mike Hamlet, First Baptist Church North Spartanburg in Spartanburg, S.C.; Chip Henderson, Pine Lake Church in Brandon, Miss.; Alex Himaya, The Church at Battle Creek in Broken Arrow, Okla.;

Robert Jeffress, First Baptist Church in Dallas; Tony Lambert, Riverside Baptist Church in Denver; Drew Landry, First Baptist Church Spotswood in Fredericksburg, Va.; Richard Mark Lee, First Baptist Church in McKinney, Texas; Ed Litton, First Baptist Church North Mobile in Mobile, Ala.; Fred Lowery, First Baptist Church in Bossier City, La.;

Gregg Matte, First Baptist Church in Houston; Scott Maze, North Richland Hills Baptist Church in North Richland Hills, Texas; Bob McCartney, First Baptist Church in Wichita Falls, Texas; Byron McWilliams, First Baptist Church in Odessa, Texas; John Meador, First Baptist Church in Euless, Texas; James Merritt, Cross Pointe Church in Duluth, Ga.;

Bob Pearle, Birchman Baptist Church in Fort Worth, Texas; Vance Pittman, Hope Church in Las Vegas; Clint Pressley, Hickory Grove Baptist Church in Charlotte; Willy Rice, Calvary Baptist Church in Clearwater, Fla.; Bob Roberts, Northwood Church in Keller, Texas; Jimmy Scroggins, First Baptist Church in West Palm Beach, Fla.; Josh Smith, MacArthur Boulevard Baptist Church in Irving, Texas; Glynn Stone, Mobberly Baptist Church in Longview, Texas;

Brandon Thomas, Keystone Church in Keller, Texas; Eric Thomas, First Baptist Church in Norfolk, Va.; Ted Traylor, Olive Baptist Church in Pensacola, Fla.; Terry Turner, Mesquite Friendship Baptist Church in Mesquite, Texas; A.B. Vines, New Seasons Church in Spring Valley, Calif.; Hayes Wicker, First Baptist Church in Naples, Fla.; and Don Wilton, First Baptist Church in Spartanburg, S.C.
Diana Chandler is Baptist Press’ staff writer. Get Baptist Press headlines and breaking news on Twitter (@BaptistPress), Facebook (Facebook.com/BaptistPress) and in your email (baptistpress.com/SubscribeBP.asp).