News Articles

Casting Crowns, Switchfoot lead Dove Award nominees

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (BP)–Nominees for the 36th annual Dove Awards, gospel music’s top awards show, were announced Feb. 7.

Nominees from the major categories are:

— Song of the Year: “Blessed Be Your Name” (Matt Redman, Beth Redman); “Dare You to Move” (Jonathan Foreman); “Friend of God” (Israel Houghton, Michael Gungor); “Glory Defined” (Jim Cooper, Kenny Lamb, Jason Roy); “Healing Rain” (Michael W. Smith, Martin Smith, Matt Bronleewe); “Meant to Live” (Jonathan Foreman); “More” (Matthew West, Jason Houser, Kenny Greenberg); “Through the Fire” (Gerald Crabb); “Who Am I” (Mark Hall, Juan DeVevo, Melodee DeVevo, Hector Cervantes, Megan Garret, Andy Williams, Chris Huffman); and “You Raise Me Up” (Rolf Lovland, Brendan Graham).

— Male Vocalist: Fernando Ortega, Israel Houghton, Jason Crabb, Jeremy Camp and Mark Hall.

— Female Vocalist: Bethany Dillon, Christy Nockels, Joy Williams, Natalie Grant and Nicole C. Mullen.

— Group of the Year: Casting Crowns, MercyMe, Selah, Switchfoot and The Crabb Family.

— Artist of the Year: Casting Crowns, MercyMe, Michael W. Smith, Selah and Switchfoot.

— New Artist of the Year: BarlowGirl, Bethany Dillon, Building 429, Day of Fire and Matthew West.

— Producer of the Year: Brown Bannister, Ed Cash, Israel Houghton, Mark A. Miller and Pete Kipley.

For a complete list of the nominees in the Doves’ 44 categories, visit www.doveawards.com.

“This year’s slate of Dove nominees once again demonstrates that gospel knows no musical boundaries,” John W. Styll, president of the Gospel Music Association, said in a news release Feb. 7. “The nominees share a common faith, while their music is expressed in many diverse ways. It’s great to see southern gospel, urban, rock, pop and worship artists all earning recognition through the nominations and it will make the GMA Music Awards show one amazing night of music.”

The 2005 Dove Awards will be April 13 at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville, Tenn.

    About the Author

  • Staff