News Articles

Committee on Committees, resolutions panel appointed

ORLANDO, Fla. (BP)–Appointments to two key committees to serve during the June 13-14 annual meeting of the Southern Baptist Convention in Orlando, Fla., have been announced by SBC President Paige Patterson.

Patterson, president of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary in Wake Forest, N.C., announced the appointment of the Committee on Committees and the Committee on Resolutions April 28. The SBC bylaws require the president to announce the appointments “at least 45 days in advance of the meeting.”

The credentials and tellers committees must be made public 30 days before the annual meeting, according to the SBC bylaws.

Patterson said the Committee on Committees includes “36 pastors, 11 laymen, three young people, 16 women, four denominational workers and five of ethnic backgrounds.”


The committee has 70 members, 2 from each of the 35 state or regional conventions qualified for representation on SBC entities.

SBC Bylaw 19 says the Committee on Committees “shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the convention not otherwise provided for.” The usual responsibility of the committee is to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations, which, in turn, nominates trustees to serve on the various national entities of the SBC.

Patterson named Bill Bowyer, pastor of Wake Cross Roads Baptist, Raleigh, N.C., as committee chairman.

ALABAMA–Kenny Cook, East Memorial Baptist Church, Prattville; Ed Litton, First Baptist Church of North Mobile, Saraland.

ALASKA–John Nichols, First Baptist Church, Kenai; Joy McCaul, First Baptist Church, Soldotna.

ARIZONA–Kima Jude, Mountain View Baptist Church, Tucson; Brian Goodman, Foothills Baptist Church, Phoenix.

ARKANSAS–Royce J. Sweatman, First Baptist Church, Harrison; Bettye Atchison, First Baptist Church, Rogers.

CALIFORNIA–Barbara Schmidt, Valley Baptist Church, Bakersfield; Bob Walpole, First Southern Baptist Church, Santa Paula.

COLORADO–Mel McClellan, Rocky Mtn. Baptist Church, Rifle; Korey Buchanek, Central Baptist Church, Aurora.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA–Rose Burcham, First Baptist Church of Upper Marlboro, MD; Deepak Reju, Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington.

FLORIDA–Rosie Mitchell, Aloma Baptist Church, Winter Park; William J. Templeman First Baptist Church of Indian Rocks, Largo.

GEORGIA–Janet Hunt, First Baptist Church, Woodstock; Bill Harrell, Abilene Baptist Church, Augusta.

HAWAII–Emiko Takaki, First Baptist Church, Haleiwa; Kamalei Teves, Nuuanu Baptist Church, Honolulu.

ILINOIS–Cristie Lewis, Bethel Baptist Church, Troy; Robert Pochek, First Baptist Church, Nashville.

INDIANA–John F. “Chip” Bayer, Zionsville Christ Covenant, Zionsville; John-Mark Yeats, Northside Baptist Church, Indianapolis.

KANSAS-NEBRASKA–Barbara Fox, Immanuel Baptist Church, Wichita, KS; Jay Lewis, Immanuel Baptist Church, Newton, KS.

KENTUCKY–Ruth Ann H. Williams, Highview Baptist Church, Louisville; John Mackey, Shively Baptist Church, Louisville.

LOUISIANA–June Johnson Hall, Pontchartrain Baptist Church, New Orleans; Darryl Hoychick, Trinity Baptist Church, Pineville.

MARYLAND-DELAWARE–Philip Mercer, Gethsemane Baptist Church, Glenwood, MD; William L. Gohmert, First Baptist Church, Beltsville, MD.

MICHIGAN–Maureen S. Collins, First Baptist Church, South Lyon; Chris McNairy, Community of Hope Baptist, Detroit.

MISSISSIPPI–David Patterson, Damascus Baptist Church, Hazlehurst; Dewey B. Miller, Crossgates Baptist Church, Brandon.

MISSOURI–James K. Johnson, Pisgah Baptist Church, Excelsior Springs; Jeff L. Purvis, Craig Road Baptist Church, St. Louis.

NEVADA–Marvin Jones, First Southern Baptist Church, Henderson; Dan Raley, First Baptist Church, Boulder City.

NEW ENGLAND–Melissa Kuespert, Hillside Baptist Church, Pembroke, NH; Mark Ballard, Christian Fellowship Baptist, Londonderry, NH.

NEW MEXICO–L. J. “Bud” Goodwin, Rodeo Road Baptist Church, Santa Fe; Paul Tankersly, First Baptist Church, Clovis.

NEW YORK–Mike G. McCoy, Ridgecrest Baptist Church, New Windsor; Nell Ginn, Open Arms Fellowship, Schenectady.

NORTH CAROLINA–J. T. Knott, Green Pines Baptist Church, Knightdale; Bill Bowyer, Chair, Wake Cross Roads Baptist, Raleigh.

NORTHWEST–Michael Smith, Evergreen Baptist Church, Vancouver, WA; Richard Burson, First Baptist Church, Lacey, WA.

OHIO–Cornelious Hancock, Springboro Baptist Church, Springboro; Dennis Humphreys, Calvary Baptist Church, Wilmington.

OKLAHOMA–Loyd V. Allen, First Southern Baptist Church, Edmond; Jamie L. Powell, First Baptist West, Lawton.

PENNSYLVANIA-SO. JERSEY–Jon Estes, Westmont Baptist Church, Johnston, PA; Ken Cademartori, Mason Dixon Baptist Church, New Freedom, PA.

SOUTH CAROLINA–Harry A. Lane, West Side Baptist Church, Greenwood; Kevin Childs, West End Baptist Church, Gaffney.

TENNESSEE–Randy Davis, First Baptist Church, Morristown; Tom Biller, First Baptist Church, Cleveland.

TEXAS–J. Keet Lewis, Prestonwood Baptist Church, Dallas; Steve Cochran, Macedonia Baptist Church, Longview.

UTAH-IDAHO–Herb Stoneman, Southeast Baptist Church, Salt Lake City, UT; Steve Best, Calvary Baptist Church, Boise, ID.

VIRGINIA–Ruth Wellman, Beulah Baptist Church, Lynchburg; Freddie E. Hudson, Faith Baptist Church, Stephens City.

WEST VIRGINIA–Terrell Bradley, Highlawn Baptist Church, Huntington; Jerry Scott, Brooksville Baptist Church, Big Bend.

WYOMING–Rick McAlister, Agape Baptist Church, Cheyenne; Bill Sluder, First Southern Baptist Church, Casper.


The Resolutions Committee is composed of 10 members, three of whom must be members of the SBC Executive Committee. The committee, according to Bylaw 20, has the “duty … to prepare and submit to the convention resolutions which the committee deems appropriate for adoption and to report on all matters submitted to it by the convention, with or without recommendations or amendments.”

The bylaw also asks that proposed resolutions be sent to the committee 30 days before the annual meeting.

Patterson named Hayes Wicker, pastor of First Baptist Church, Naples, Fla., as committee chairman.

Executive Committee members are:

Ann Frazier, layperson, Calvary Baptist Church, Roanoke Rapids, N.C.; Rick Lazor, pastor, Nuuanu Baptist Church, Honolulu; and Mark Patton, pastor, The New Church on Meridian, Carmel, Ind.

Other members of the committee are:

Jim Bolton, layperson, First Baptist Church, Dallas; Jeremy Morton, layperson, Cornerstone Baptist Church, Bonaire, Ga.; Nancy Pressler, layperson; First Baptist Church, Houston; Tom Rush, pastor, First Baptist Church, Clovis, N.M.; Ted Traylor, pastor, Olive Baptist Church, Pensacola, Fla.; and Stephen Rumley, pastor, First Baptist Church, Carey, N.C.

    About the Author

  • Staff