News Articles

Committee on Committees, resolutions panel appointed

ATLANTA (BP)–Appointments to two key committees to serve during the annual meeting of the Southern Baptist Convention in Atlanta, June 15-16, have been announced by SBC President Paige Patterson.
Patterson, president of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary in Wake Forest, N.C., announced the appointment of the Committee on Committees and the Committee on Resolutions April 30. The SBC bylaws require the president to announce the appointments “at least 45 days in advance of the meeting.”
The credentials and tellers committee must be made public 30 days before the annual meeting, according to the SBC bylaws.
The committee has 70 members, 2 from each of the 35 state or regional conventions qualified for representation on SBC entities.
SBC Bylaw 21 says the Committee on Committees “shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the convention not otherwise provided for.” The usual responsibility of the committee is to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations, which, in turn, nominates trustees to serve on the 23 national entities of the SBC.
Patterson named Tommy C. French Jr., pastor of Jefferson Baptist Church, Baton Rouge, La., as committee chairman.
The committee includes two-thirds clergy or denominationally related to one-third laypersons, the tradition which follows the seminary trustees’ model.
Committee members are designated with a “D” for denominationally related or an “N” for non-denominationally-related.
ALABAMA–Barry Holcomb, D, Bluff Springs Baptist Church, Ashford; Jackie Shelton, D, Pleasant Grove Baptist Church, Moulton.
ALASKA–Gregory L. Clark, D, Shannon Park Baptist Church, Fairbanks; Cheryl G. Thompson, D, First Baptist Church, Soldotna.
ARIZONA–Bret D. Burnett, D, West Yuma Southern Baptist Church, Yuma; Karen R. Coe, N, First Baptist Church, Chandler.
ARKANSAS–Jim Lagrone, D, First Southern Baptist Church, Bryant; Wanda Miller, N, First Baptist Church, Springdale.
CALIFORNIA–James Freeman, N, First Southern Baptist Church, San Diego; Misty Turco, N, Calvary Baptist Church, Riverside.
COLORADO–Thomas G. Devenish, N, Applewood Baptist Church, Wheat Ridge; Chad Fletcher, N, Central Baptist Church, Aurora.
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA–Papu Sandhu, N, Wisconsin Avenue Baptist Church, Washington; Matt Schmucker, N, Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington.
FLORIDA–Tim Patterson, D, Glen St. Mary First Baptist Church, Glen St. Mary; Jim Tatum, N, First Baptist Church, Jacksonville.
GEORGIA–Joe Allen, D, First Baptist Church, Norcross; Doug Shaddix, N, Eastside Baptist Church, Marietta.
HAWAII–Rick Lazor, D, Nuuanu Baptist Church, Honolulu; Craig Webb, D, Lahaina Baptist Church, Lahaina, Maui.
ILLINOIS–David Schlag, D, First Baptist Church, Thompsonville; Ken Wilson, D, United Missionary Baptist Church, Buncombe.
INDIANA–Michael Cramer, D, Osceola New Life Baptist Church, Osceola; Woody Cumbie, D, Northside Baptist Church, Indianapolis.
KANSAS-NEBRASKA–Pete Dominguez, D, South City Southern Baptist Church, Wichita, Kan.; Francis LaRocque, D, Wellington Place Baptist Church, Wichita, Kan.
KENTUCKY–Charlie Jones, N, Carter Creek Baptist Church, Greenville; Jack Timothy Mathis, D, First Baptist Church, Danville.
LOUISIANA–Tommy C. French Jr., chairman; Charles Harper, N, Goodwood Baptist Church, Baton Rouge.
MARYLAND-DELAWARE–Barry Devine, D, First Baptist Church, Delmar, Del.; Pamela Lilly, N, Catonsville Baptist Church, Catonsville, Md.
MICHIGAN–Bob Beddingfield, D, First Baptist Church, South Lyon; Michael Elsey, D, Ontwa Baptist Church, Edwardsburg.
MISSISSIPPI–Glenn Miles, N, Harmony Baptist Church, Crystal Springs; David Shofner, D, Calvary Baptist Church, Petal.
MISSOURI–Jim Cogdill, D, Trinity North Baptist Church, Kansas City; Marianne Peyton, N, Sturgeon Baptist Church, Sturgeon.
NEVADA–Rene Houle, D, First Baptist Church, Minden; Dennis Kim, D, First Korean Baptist Church, Las Vegas.
NEW ENGLAND–Bill Hedgpeth, D, Connecticut River Baptist Church, Claremont, N.H.; Michael J. Hoffman, D, Maine Street Baptist Church, Brunswick, Maine.
NEW MEXICO–Robert Brown, D, First Baptist Church, Texico; Larry Miller, D, Eastern Hills Baptist Church, Albuquerque.
NEW YORK–Jim Goforth, D, Shiloh Baptist Church, Malone; Florence Hui, N, Brooklyn Chinese Baptist Church, Brooklyn.
NORTH CAROLINA–Steve Choplin, N, Mount Vernon Baptist Church, Raleigh; Rick Cockerham, D, Calvary Baptist Church, Salisbury.
NORTHWEST–Shirley Seim, N, Trinity Baptist Church, Renton, Wash.; Mike Yokoy, D, Japanese International Baptist Church, Tigard, Ore.
OHIO–Ron Cappock, D, Dayton Avenue Baptist Church, Xenia; Roger Williams, D, Hillcrest Baptist Church, Carlisle.
OKLAHOMA–Greg Kenan, D, Graceway Baptist Church, Oklahoma City; Robbie Roberson, D, Grace Place Baptist Church, Oklahoma City.
PENNSYLVANIA-SO. JERSEY–Mark Dooley, D, North Penn Baptist Church, Souderton, Pa.; Henry Nash, D, Grace Community Church, Philadelphia.
SOUTH CAROLINA–Daniel E. Johnston, D, Jonesville Baptist Church, Jonesville; Sandy Phillips, N, First Baptist North Spartanburg, Spartanburg.
TENNESSEE–Stan May, D, Kirby Woods Baptist Church, Memphis; Jon K. Walker, D, Parkway Baptist Church, Nashville.
TEXAS–Brian Waite, D, Southwest Baptist Church, DeSoto; Michael Wright, D, First Baptist Church, Iraan.
UTAH-IDAHO–Tina Casey, N, Calvary Baptist Church, Idaho Falls, Idaho; Jeanette Stoneman, N, Southeast Baptist Church, Salt Lake City.
VIRGINIA–Ray Prince, N, Smithland Baptist Church, Heathsville; Ashton C. Smith, D, Evergreen Baptist Church, Evergreen.
WEST VIRGINIA–Brenda Jicka, N, Highlawn Baptist Church, Huntington; Allen L. Shouse, D, East Williamson Baptist Church, Williamson.
WYOMING–Bill Greaham, N, First Southern Baptist Church, Powell; Clyde Thompson, D, United Baptist Church, Riverton.
The Resolutions Committee is composed of 10 members, three of whom must be members of the SBC Executive Committee. The committee, according to Bylaw 21, has the “duty … to prepare and submit to the convention resolutions which the committee deems appropriate for adoption and to report on all matters submitted to it by the convention, with or without recommendation or amendments.”
The bylaw also asks that proposed resolutions be sent to the committee 30 days before the annual meeting.
Patterson named Al Jackson, pastor of Lakeview Baptist Church, Auburn, Ala., committee chairman.
Executive Committee members are:
GEORGIA–Gerald Harris, pastor, Eastside Baptist Church, Marietta, Ga.; Paul K. Kaneshiro, pastor, Pukalani Baptist Church, Pukalani, Maui, Hawaii; and Pat Pajak, pastor, Tabernacle Baptist Church, Decatur, Ill.
Other members of the committee are:
Al Jackson, chairman; Tim Boyd, pastor, First Baptist Church, Mulvane, Kan.; Ralph Justice, layperson, Mt. Vernon Baptist Church, Raleigh, N.C.; Greg DeMarco, BSU director, First Baptist Church, Clovis, N.M.; Bobbie Patray, layperson, Two Rivers Baptist Church, Nashville, Tenn.; John Mark Caton, pastor, First Baptist Church-Fairview, McKinney, Texas; and Howell Burkhead, pastor, First Baptist Church, Cleveland, Texas.