- Baptist Press - https://www.baptistpress.com -

Committee on Resolutions named for 2013 SBC


HOUSTON (BP) — SBC President Fred Luter has named the members of the Committee on Resolutions for the June 11-12 Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in Houston.

Luter, pastor of the Franklin Avenue Baptist Church in New Orleans, appointed the committee in keeping with the provision in SBC Bylaw 20 that its members be named 75 days prior to the start of the annual meeting.

Luter named Steve Lemke of Louisiana as committee chairman. Lemke is provost at New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary in New Orleans, where he also serves as professor of philosophy and ethics, occupies the McFarland Chair of Theology, directs the Baptist Center for Theology and Ministry and is editor of the Journal for Baptist Theology and Ministry. Lemke is a member of First Baptist Church in New Orleans.

The other committee members, in alphabetical order, are:

— Matthew Arbo, assistant professor of Christian ethics, Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, member, Redeemer Fellowship, Kansas City, Mo.

— Tom Biles, recently retired executive director, Tampa Bay Baptist Association, Tampa, Fla.; interim pastor, First Baptist Church, Dade City, Fla.; member, Idlewild Baptist Church, Lutz, Fla.


— David Crosby, senior pastor, First Baptist Church, New Orleans.

— David Dykes, senior pastor, Green Acres Baptist Church, Tyler, Texas.

— Richard Gaines, senior pastor, Consolidated Baptist Church, Lexington, Ky.

— Galen Jones, church planting consultant and state missionary, Georgia Baptist Convention; church planting pastor, New Destiny Christian Fellowship, Duluth, Ga.

— Manpoong Dennis Kim, pastor, Global Mission Church, Silver Spring, Md.

— Joe Wright, director of missions, Dyer Baptist Association, Dyersburg, Tenn.; member, First Baptist Church, Dyersburg.

— Carol Yarber, member, First Baptist Church, Malakoff, Texas.

The committee’s composition, according to Bylaw 20, must include at least two members who served the previous year, with Kim and Wright meeting this requirement. Bylaw 20 also stipulates that the committee include at least three SBC Executive Committee members. This year they are Biles, Dykes and Yarber.

The procedure for submitting resolutions is as follows according to Bylaw 20:

— Proposed resolutions may be submitted as early as April 15 but no later than 15 days prior to the SBC annual meeting, giving the Resolutions Committee a two-week period in which to consider submissions. The committee also may propose resolutions for consideration during its deliberations. Resolutions may not be submitted during the annual meeting.

— Proposed resolutions must be accompanied by a letter from a church qualified to send a messenger to the SBC annual meeting certifying that the individual submitting the resolution is a member in good standing.

— Proposed resolutions preferably should be submitted by e-mail or mailed to the Committee on Resolutions in care of the SBC Executive Committee, 901 Commerce St., Nashville, TN 37203. The drafts must be typewritten, titled, dated and include complete contact information for the person and his or her church.

— No person will be allowed to submit more than three resolutions per year.

— If a properly submitted resolution is not forwarded by the Committee on Resolutions to the SBC annual meeting, a two-thirds vote of messengers would be required to bring the proposed resolution to the convention floor.
Compiled by Baptist Press staff. All resolutions adopted by the SBC can be searched and read on the Web at www.sbc.net/resolutions/AMResSearch.asp.