News Articles

Floyd names Committee on Committees

EDITOR’S NOTE: Please note that Mark Ford, First Baptist Church, Longview, Wash., has been added to the list of Committee on Committees for the Northwest. He replaces Matthew Bond, Ekklesia, Sidney (B.C., Canada), who will be unable to serve. Edited March 18.

COLUMBUS, Ohio (BP) — Appointments to the Southern Baptist Convention’s Committee on Committees have been announced by SBC President Ronnie Floyd, pastor of Cross Church, in Springdale, Ark. Floyd announced the appointments in accordance with SBC Bylaw 19, which calls for providing notice to Southern Baptists of the appointees no later than 45 days in advance of each year’s Convention.

The Committee on Committees will assemble in Columbus just prior to the SBC’s June 16-17 annual meeting to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations who, in turn, nominate trustees for the boards of SBC entities. SBC Bylaw 19 also provides that the Committee on Committees “shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the Convention not otherwise provided for.”

The Committee on Committees has 68 members, two from each of the 34 states and regions qualified for representation on boards of SBC entities.

The president named Bryan Smith, pastor of First Baptist Church, Roanoke, Va., to serve as chairman of this year’s Committee on Committees. See Floyd’s blog for more information about the Committee on Committees’ selection process.

Committee members are:

ALABAMA — Marilyn Foley, Spring Hill Baptist Church, Mobile; Buddy Champion, First Baptist Church, Trussville

ALASKA — Todd Burgess, First Baptist Church, Eagle River; Brent Williams, True North Church, Anchorage

ARIZONA — Scott Gourley, The Way Fellowship Church, Peoria; Brett Carlson, Mountain Ridge Church, Glendale

ARKANSAS — Tom Hatley, Immanuel Baptist Church, Rogers; Bill Elliff, The Summit Church, North Little Rock

CALIFORNIA — Ryan Blackwell, First Baptist Church, San Francisco; Anthony Dockery, St. Stephen Missionary Baptist Church, La Puente

COLORADO — Bryan Barley, The Summit Church, Denver; Missy Kintzel, Applewood Baptist Church, Wheat Ridge

FLORIDA — Matt Crawford, First Baptist Church, Sebring; Trey Brunson, First Baptist Church, Jacksonville

GEORGIA — Fred Evers, Northside Baptist Church, Tifton; Jeremy Morton, First Baptist Church, Cartersville

HAWAII — Maria Ogle, Ocean View Baptist Church, Ocean View; Steve Gray,
First Baptist Church, Wahiawa

ILLINOIS – Adron Robinson, Hillcrest Baptist Church, Country Club Hills; Patrick Pajak, Tabernacle, Decatur

INDIANA — Nathan Millican, Oak Park Baptist Church, Jeffersonville; Autumn Wall, Living Faith Church, Indianapolis

KANSAS-NEBRASKA — Derrick Lynch, Blue Valley Baptist Church, Overland Park, Kan.; Faith McDonald, Lenexa Baptist Church, Lenexa, Kan.

KENTUCKY — Garnetta Smith, Highview Baptist Church, Louisville; John Mark Toby, Hillvue Heights Church, Bowling Green

LOUISIANA — Stewart Holloway, First Baptist Church, Pineville; Diane Nix, First Baptist Church, Covington

MARYLAND-DELAWARE-DC — Bucas Sterling III, Kettering Baptist Church, Upper Marlboro, Md.; Zach Schlegel, Capital Hill Baptist Church, Washington, D.C.

MICHIGAN — Nathaniel Bishop, Eastside Community Church, Harper Woods; Wayne Parker, Merriman Road Baptist Church, Garden City

MISSISSIPPI — Eric Hankins, First Baptist Church, Oxford; Chip Henderson, Pinelake Church, Brandon

MISSOURI — Malachi O’Brien, The Church at Pleasant Ridge, Harrisonville; Brad Graves, Calvary Baptist Church, Joplin

NEVADA — Greg Fields, Nellis Baptist Church, Las Vegas; Kristie Pitman, Hope Baptist Church, Las Vegas

NEW ENGLAND — Matt Chewning, Netcast Church, Beverly, Mass.; David Um, Antioch Baptist Church, Cambridge, Mass.

NEW MEXICO — Alan Stoddard, First Baptist Church, Ruidoso; Elio Barrios, Taylor Memorial Baptist Church, Hobbs

NEW YORK — George Russ, Ebenezer Mission Church, Oakland Gardens; Salomón Orellana, Iglesia Bautista El Buen Pastor, Hempstead

NORTH CAROLINA — Mike Daniels, Hickory Grove Baptist Church, Charlotte; Brundi Crawford, Biltmore Baptist Church, Arden

NORTHWEST — Brian Smith, Calvary Baptist Church, Burlington, Wash.; Mark Ford, First Baptist Church, Longview, Wash.

OHIO — Travis Smalley, Lakota Hills Baptist Church, West Chester Township; Rich Halcombe, Jersey Baptist Church, Pataskala

OKLAHOMA — Félix Cabrera, Iglesia Bautista Central, Oklahoma City; Alex Himaya, TheChurch.at, Tulsa

PENNSYLVANIA/SOUTH JERSEY — K. Marshall Williams, Nazarene Baptist Church, Philadelphia, Pa.; John Cope, Keystone Fellowship, North Wales, Pa.

SOUTH CAROLINA — Paul Jimenez, First Baptist Church, Taylors; Karyn Wilton, First Baptist Church, Spartanburg

TENNESSEE — Kim Tucker, Bellevue Baptist Church, Cordova; Jon Akin, Fairview Church, Lebanon

TEXAS — Chuy Avila, El Encuentro Baptist Church, El Paso; Glynn Stone, Mobberly Baptist Church, Longview

UTAH-IDAHO — Paul Thompson, Eastside Baptist Church, Twin Falls, Idaho; Ray Sparkman, Central Valley Baptist Church, Meridian, Idaho

VIRGINIA — Bryan Smith, First Baptist Church, Roanoke; Tammy Ethridge, Liberty Baptist Church, Hampton

WEST VIRGINIA — John Freeman, Calvary Baptist Church, Chapmanville; Will Basham, New Heights Church, Milton

WYOMING — Mark Porter, Happy Jack Country Church, Cheyenne; Zachary Edwards, Life Point Church, Cheyenne

    About the Author

  • Staff