News Articles

GMA Hall of Fame inducts singers, songwriters

NASHVILLE (BP) — Four singers, songwriters and music executives were inducted into the Gospel Music Association’s Gospel Music Hall of Fame May 8.

The induction ceremony, held on the campus of David Lipscomb University, also honored recording artists and others who support charitable work, according to a Gospel Music Association (GMA) news release. Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee and musicians Gloria Gaither, The Martins and Paul Baloche were among special guests at the ceremony.

This year’s GMA Hall of Fame inductees, according to the GMA website, were:

— Don Moen, a pioneer of the modern praise and worship movement whose 1984 album “Give Thanks” is among the most popular recordings ever released by Integrity Music;

— Janet Paschal, a vocalist and songwriter whose compositions include “God Will Make a Way”;

— Tramaine Hawkins, a vocalist who achieved Gospel and mainstream success; and

— Dottie Leonard Miller, a music executive who founded New Day Christian Distributors and Daywind Music Group.

During the ceremony, the governor recalled happening upon a church on Nashville’s Music Row when he was 22 and the impact its preaching and music came to have on his life.

“I came from a traditional church and I remember telling my friend with me that I think it might be a cult,” Lee said according to GMA’s release. “There was something about that place. I now know it was the Spirit of God that made me come back and keep coming back.”

Honored by GMA for their charitable work and community impact were Nashville pastor Don Finto, publishing executive LaDonna Boyd, country recording artists Rascal Flatts and the Premier Foundation, an organization that meets physical, spiritual and educational needs of the impoverished.

Musician Jay DeMarcus of Rascal Flatts told the GMA audience, “The people in this room, some I have known for decades, have the responsibility to pass the Good News and the hope forward of Jesus Christ in a world that so desperately needs it today.”

Next year’s GMA Hall of Fame induction is set for May 6.