News Articles

IMB committee seeks recommendations

RICHMOND, Va. (BP)–A team of International Mission Board trustees met Oct. 6 in Richmond, Va., and announced they will begin accepting recommendations to bolster their search for the IMB’s next president.

The 15-member search committee was appointed in September following Jerry Rankin’s announcement that he will retire as IMB president in July 2010. Jimmy Pritchard, senior pastor of First Baptist Church of Forney, Texas, is chairing the committee with Norman Coe, associate pastor of Highview Baptist Church in Louisville, Ky., as vice chair.

“The presidential search team has begun its work to find God’s choice to become the next leader of IMB,” Pritchard said. “We will be dependent upon the prompting of the Spirit and the prayers of the saints in the process.

“We will be grateful for Southern Baptists’ recommendations as we consider the individual God is calling. All recommendations will be valued and prayerfully considered.”

Other members of the search committee are Stuart Bell and Joe Hewgley (Arkansas), Jana Brown (Georgia), Charles Fowler (Tennessee), Robert Jackson, Mike Penry and Tim Locher (North Carolina), Nathan Lino (Texas), Dick Landry and Kathy Towns (Louisiana), Ray Jones (Alabama) and Richard Powell (Florida). Trustee chairman Paul Chitwood also is serving on the committee.

Recommendations can be sent to [email protected] or to P.O. Box 97, Forney, TX 75126. The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.
Don Graham is a writer for the International Mission Board.

    About the Author

  • Don Graham