News Articles

Jason Crabb wins top honors at Doves

ATLANTA (BP) — Jason Crabb won top honors at the 43rd annual Gospel Music Association Dove Awards at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta April 19, taking home awards for Artist of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year.

The Dove Awards will air on GMC, formerly the Gospel Music Channel, at 8 p.m. Tuesday, April 24, followed by an encore at 10 p.m.

[[email protected]@180=Jason Crabb won Dove Awards for Artist of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year.]”When they said my name, I couldn’t believe it,” Crabb, who was nominated for eight Dove Awards, said, according to watchgmctv.com.

College student Jamie-Grace won New Artist of the Year, and as she accepted the award she noted how much her life had changed since she attended the Georgia Homeschool Prom in the same building four years ago, watchgmctv.com recounted. Industry veteran TobyMac signed Jamie-Grace to his Gotee Records after discovering her on YouTube, the Associated Press reported.

“Growin up lovin Gospel & Christian music & looking up to artists in the industry, I am blown away that I’m considered as an artist…,” Jamie-Grace tweeted after the win.

Natalie Grant won Female Artist of the Year for the fifth time in six years, and Grammy-winner Laura Story won Song of the Year for “Blessings” as well as two other awards.

NEEDTOBREATHE won three Doves, including Group of the Year, and Ed Cash was named Producer of the Year.

The awards show, hosted by comedian Chonda Pierce and actor David Mann, began with a choir dressed in red singing a spirited rendition of Dottie Rambo’s “I Go To the Rock” as a tribute to Whitney Houston, who sang the song in the movie “The Preacher’s Wife.”

Other performances included the contemporary gospel duo Mary Mary, hip-hopper Lecrae and worship artist Kari Jobe.

“This is an event that has a history of bringing together people who are not only giving us a new favorite song to sing but who are anointed with a heavenly message,” GMA Executive Director Jackie Patillo said.

For a complete list of award winners, visit gospelmusic.org.
Compiled by Baptist Press assistant editor Erin Roach. Get Baptist Press headlines and breaking news on Twitter (@BaptistPress), Facebook (Facebook.com/BaptistPress) and in your email (baptistpress.com/SubscribeBP.asp).

    About the Author

  • Staff