News Articles

Resolutions Committee named for ’07 SBC

SAN ANTONIO, Texas (BP)–SBC President Frank Page has named the members of the Resolutions Committee who will serve during the June 12-13 Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

Page, pastor of First Baptist Church in Taylors, S.C., appointed Gerald Harris of Georgia as committee chairman. Harris is editor of The Christian Index, newsjournal of the Georgia Baptist Convention, and a member of Ephesus Baptist Church in Atlanta.

Page’s other appointees, in alphabetical order, are:

— David George, director of missions of Chugach Baptist Association in Anchorage, Alaska, and member of First Baptist Church of Eagle River.

— Al Gilbert, senior pastor of Calvary Baptist Church in Winston-Salem, N.C.

— Robin Hadaway, associate professor of missions at Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and member of Pleasant Valley Baptist Church in Kansas City, Mo.

— Galen Jones, African American church planting strategist in Tuscaloosa, Ala., under dual appointment of the North American Mission Board and the Alabama Baptist State Board of Missions. New to the area, Jones has been attending Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church in Tuscaloosa.

— Martha Lawley, an author and speaker and member of First Southern Baptist Church in Worland, Wyo.

— Michael Lewis, pastor of Great Hills Baptist Church in Austin, Texas.

— Daniel Sanchez, director of Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary’s Scarborough Institute for Church Planting and Growth and associate dean of the Roy Fish School of Evangelism and Missions and member of Wedgwood Baptist Church in Fort Worth, Texas.

— Charles Strickland, executive assistant to the president at Brewton-Parker College in Mt. Vernon, Ga., and member of First Baptist Church in Vidalia.

— Greg Thornbury, dean of Union University’s school of Christian studies and member of Englewood Baptist Church in Jackson, Tenn.

The committee’s composition must include at least two members who served the previous year, with Harris and Hadaway meeting this requirement. Bylaw 20 has long required that the committee include at least three SBC Executive Committee members. This year they are Lewis, Lawley and Gilbert.

The naming of the Resolutions Committee in late March is in keeping with an amendment to SBC Bylaw 20 approved during the 2002 SBC annual meeting in St. Louis, which also entailed various changes to the resolution submission procedure. The changes include the following:

— Proposed resolutions may be submitted as early as April 15 but no later than 15 days prior to the SBC annual meeting, giving the Resolutions Committee a two-week period in which to consider submissions. Resolutions may no longer be submitted during the annual meeting.

— Proposed resolutions must be accompanied by a letter from a church qualified to send a messenger to the SBC annual meeting certifying that the individual submitting the resolution is a member in good standing.

— Proposed resolutions preferably should be submitted by e-mail or mailed to the Resolutions Committee in care of the SBC Executive Committee. The drafts must be typewritten, titled, dated and include complete contact information for the person and his or her church.

— No person will be allowed to submit more than three resolutions per year.

— If a properly submitted resolution is not forwarded by the Resolutions Committee to the SBC annual meeting, a two-thirds vote of messengers would be required to bring the proposed resolution to the convention floor.
All resolutions adopted by the SBC can be searched and read on the Web at http://www.sbc.net/resolutions/AMResSearch.asp.

    About the Author

  • Staff