- Baptist Press - https://www.baptistpress.com -

SBC President Elliff names Committee on Committees


SALT LAKE CITY (BP)–Appointments to the Committee on Committees to serve during the annual meeting of the Southern Baptist Convention in Dallas, June 9-11, have been announced by SBC President Tom Elliff.
Elliff, pastor of First Southern Baptist Church, Del City, Okla., announced the appointment of the Committee on Committees April 24. The SBC bylaws require the president to announce the appointments “at least 45 days in advance of the meeting.”
The credentials and tellers committee must be made public 30 days before the annual meeting, according to the SBC bylaws.
The committee has 70 members, two from each of the 35 state or regional conventions qualified for representation on SBC entities.
SBC Bylaw 21 says the Committee on Committees “shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the convention not otherwise provided for.” The usual responsibility of the committee is to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations, which, in turn, nominates trustees to serve on the various national entities of the SBC.
Elliff named Keith Thomas, pastor, First Baptist Church, West Palm Beach, Fla., as committee chairman.
The committee includes three-fifths clergy or denominationally-related to two-fifth laypersons.
ALABAMA–Brent Reeves, pastor, Parkway Baptist Church, Auburn; Bobbi Jackson, layperson, Whitesburg Baptist Church, Huntsville.
ALASKA–Pat Davidson, layperson, Faith Baptist Church, Anchorage; Roy Mooneyham, pastor, First Baptist Church, Delta Junction.
ARIZONA–Sue McKown, layperson, First Southern Baptist Church, Avondale; Gary Knighton, pastor, First Southern Baptist Church, Payson.
ARKANSAS–Jerry Harris, layperson, First Baptist Church, Gentry; Brent Powell, Calvary Baptist Church, Camden.
CALIFORNIA–Carolyn Sizemore, layperson, Hemet Valley Baptist Church, Hemet; Don Wilkerson, pastor, First Baptist Church, Springville.
COLORADO–Raelene Gonzales, layperson, Central Baptist Church, Aurora; Willard Johnson, pastor, Denver Temple Baptist Church, Denver.
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA–Theodore Daniels, layperson, Fort Washington Baptist Church, Fort Washington, Md.; Marlene Reid, layperson, Hillcrest Baptist Church, Hillcrest Heights, Md.
FLORIDA–David Bailey, pastor, Main Street Baptist Church, Leesburg; Keith Thomas, pastor, First Baptist Church, West Palm Beach, chairman.
GEORGIA–Ashley Clayton, minister of education, First Baptist Church, Snellville; Timothy McCoy, pastor, Ingleside Baptist Church, Macon.
HAWAII–George Iwahiro, layperson, Nuuanu Baptist Church, Honolulu; Paul Kaneshiro, pastor, Pukalani Baptist Church, Pukalani.
ILLINOIS–Jim Scott Orrick, pastor, Nine Mile Baptist Church, Tamaroa; Russell Cochran, layperson, Tabernacle Baptist Church, Decatur.
INDIANA–Diane Phillips, layperson, Northside Baptist Church, Indianapolis; Sid West, pastor, Waynedale Baptist Church, Fort Wayne.
KANSAS–Dave Carraway, pastor, First Southern Baptist Church, Ulysses; Mary Dighton, layperson, Lenexa Baptist Church, Lenexa.
KENTUCKY–Steven Hill, pastor, Valley Creek Baptist Church, Elizabethtown; James McGee, pastor, Porter Memorial Baptist Church, Lexington.
LOUISIANA–Gilda Hoychick, church staff, Emmanuel Baptist Church, Eunice; Richard Bullock, pastor, First Baptist Church, Elton.
MARYLAND-DELAWARE–Barry Whitworth, pastor, Mt. Airy Baptist Church, Mt. Airy, Md.; Robert Anderson Jr., pastor, Colonial Baptist Church, Randellstown, Md.
MICHIGAN–Don Maxey, pastor, First Baptist Church, Riverview; Levi Parish, pastor, Eastgate Baptist Church, Burton.
MISSOURI–Wayne Gott, layperson, First Baptist Church, Salem; Robert Travers, pastor, Tower Grove Baptist Church, St. Louis.
MISSISSIPPI–Lynn Caine, layperson, First Baptist Church, Jackson; Robert Netterville, pastor, Walker Hill Baptist Church, Brandon.
NORTH CAROLINA–Coy Privette, retired pastor, North Kannapolis Baptist Church, Kannapolis; Guy Hipp, pastor, Calvary Baptist Church, Winston-Salem.
NEW ENGLAND–Don Williams, pastor, Mountain View Baptist Church, Lancaster, N.H.; Darril Deaton, pastor, Friendship Baptist Church, Litchfield, Conn.
NEW MEXICO–Wes McAffee, director of missions, First Baptist Church, Farmington; Donna Nichols, layperson, First Baptist Church, Hobbs.
NEVADA–Johnny Nantz, pastor, Spring Valley Baptist Church, Las Vegas; John Simmons, pastor, Highland Hills Baptist Church, Henderson.
NORTHWEST–Richard Burson, pastor, Lakeside Baptist Church, Lakeside, Ore.; Stephen Brewer, pastor, Vine Street Baptist Church, Roseburg, Ore.
NEW YORK–Larry Lightner, pastor, Trinity Baptist Church, Niskayuna; Larry Pridmore, pastor, Grace Baptist Church, Whitehall.
OHIO–Robert Hopkins, director of missions, First Baptist Church, Mount Orab; David Snyder, pastor, Beverly Baptist Church, Beverly.
OKLAHOMA–Ralph Speas, associate pastor, First Southern Baptist Church, Del City; Wendell Lang, pastor, First Baptist Church, Pryor.
PENNSYLVANIA-SO. JERSEY–John Morris, pastor, West Hills Baptist Church, Moon Township, Pa.; Christopher LaRue, pastor, Mason Dixon Baptist Church, New Freedom, Pa.
SOUTH CAROLINA–J.T. Cromer, pastor, Holly Ridge Baptist Church, Simpsonville; Don Purvis, pastor, Lakeview Baptist Church, Hartsville.
TENNESSEE–Ernie Owens, layperson, First Baptist Church, Willington; Richard Holden, pastor, First Baptist Church, Alcoa.
TEXAS–Casey Perry, pastor, First Baptist Church, Malakoff; Edwin Harris, layman, McArthur Boulevard Baptist Church, Irving.
UTAH-IDAHO–Kirk Casey, pastor, Calvary Baptist Church, Idaho Falls, Idaho; Vivian Smith, layperson, Blackfoot Southern Baptist Church, Blackfoot, Idaho.
VIRGINIA–Danny Gregg, pastor, Wayne Hill Baptist Church, Waynesboro; Marlene Boswell, layperson, Grove Avenue Baptist Church, Richmond.
WEST VIRGINIA–David Dockery, pastor, First Baptist Church, Princeton; Bernard Toppings, pastor, Witcher Baptist Church, Belle.
WYOMING–Robin Gray, layperson, Big Horn Baptist Church, Buffalo; Mark Porter, pastor, Antelope Valley Baptist Church, Gillette.