News Articles

THE VOTE: How senators voted on the FMA procedural motion

WASHINGTON (BP)–The Senate defeated a “motion to proceed” July 14 that would have allowed a vote on the Federal Marriage Amendment. Following is how senators voted on the motion.

A “yes” vote would have resulted in senators voting on the marriage amendment.

Daniel Akaka (D-HI), No
Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Yes
Wayne Allard (R-CO), Yes
George Allen (R-VA), Yes
Max Baucus (D-MT), No
Evan Bayh (D-IN), No
Robert Bennett (R-UT), Yes
Joseph Biden (D-DE), No
Jeff Bingaman (D-NM), No
Christopher Bond (R-MO), Yes
Barbara Boxer (D-CA), No
John Breaux (D-LA), No
Sam Brownback (R-KS), Yes
Jim Bunning (R-KY), Yes
Conrad Burns (R-MT), Yes
Robert Byrd (D-WV), Yes
Ben Campbell (R-CO), No
Maria Cantwell (D-WA), No
Thomas Carper (D-DE), No
Lincoln Chafee (R-RI), No
Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Yes
Hillary Clinton (D-NY), No
Thad Cochran (R-MS), Yes
Norm Coleman (R-MN), Yes
Susan Collins (R-ME), No
Kent Conrad (D-ND), No
John Cornyn (R-TX), Yes
Jon Corzine (D-NJ), No
Larry Craig (R-ID), Yes
Michael Crapo (R-ID), Yes
Tom Daschle (D-SD), No
Mark Dayton (D-MN), No
Mike DeWine (R-OH), Yes
Christopher Dodd (D-CT), No
Elizabeth Dole (R-NC), Yes
Pete Domenici (R-NM), Yes
Byron Dorgan (D-ND), No
Richard Durbin (D-IL), No
John Edwards (D-NC), Not Voting
John Ensign (R-NV), Yes
Michael Enzi (R-WY), Yes
Russell Feingold (D-WI), No
Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), No
Peter Fitzgerald (R-IL), Yes
Bill Frist (R-TN), Yes
Bob Graham (D-FL), No
Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Yes
Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Yes
Judd Gregg (R-NH), Yes
Chuck Hagel (R-NE), Yes
Tom Harkin (D-IA), No
Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Yes
Ernest Hollings (D-SC), No
Kay Hutchison (R-TX), Yes
James Inhofe (R-OK), Yes
Daniel Inouye (D-HI), No
James Jeffords (I-VT), No
Tim Johnson (D-SD), No
Edward Kennedy (D-MA), No
John Kerry (D-MA), Not Voting
Herb Kohl (D-WI), No
Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Yes
Mary Landrieu (D-LA), No
Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ), No
Patrick Leahy (D-VT), No
Carl Levin (D-MI), No
Joseph Lieberman (D-CT), No
Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), No
Trent Lott (R-MS), Yes
Richard Lugar (R-IN), Yes
John McCain (R-AZ), No
Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Yes
Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), No
Zell Miller (D-GA), Yes
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Yes
Patty Murray (D-WA), No
Bill Nelson (D-FL), No
Ben Nelson (D-NE), Yes
Don Nickles (R-OK), Yes
Mark Pryor (D-AR), No
Jack Reed (D-RI), No
Harry Reid (D-NV), No
Pat Roberts (R-KS), Yes
John Rockefeller (D-WV), No
Rick Santorum (R-PA), Yes
Paul Sarbanes (D-MD), No
Charles Schumer (D-NY), No
Jeff Sessions (R-AL), Yes
Richard Shelby (R-AL), Yes
Gordon Smith (R-OR), Yes
Olympia Snowe (R-ME), No
Arlen Specter (R-PA), Yes
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), No
Ted Stevens (R-AK), Yes
John Sununu (R-NH), No
James Talent (R-MO), Yes
Craig Thomas (R-WY), Yes
George Voinovich (R-OH), Yes
John Warner (R-VA), Yes
Ron Wyden (D-OR), No
For more information about the national debate over same-sex “marriage,” visit

    About the Author

  • Staff