B&H Publishing

Oklahoma Baptist University staff

Sort by:
Filter by Resource Type:
Filter Options »
Filter by Topic:
Filter by Scripture:
Filter by Series:
Filter by Event:
Filter by Media Format:

Heath Thomas to become OBU’s 16th president

SHAWNEE, Okla. (BP) -- The Oklahoma Baptist University (OBU) board of trustees voted Friday (Nov. 8) to elect Heath Thomas as the university's 16th president during its fall meeting on the OBU campus in Shawnee. Thomas currently serves at OBU as the dean of the Hobbs College of Theology and Ministry and the associate vice president for church relations. He will assume the role of president in January 2020. In addition to his duties as dean and associate vice president, Thomas also serves as interim dean of the divisions of behavioral and social sciences and language and literature, the Floyd K. Clark Chair of Christian Leadership and professor of Old Testament. He joined the OBU faculty in 2015 after serving as director of Ph.D. studies and associate professor of Old Testament and Hebrew at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary in Wake Forest, N.C.