News Articles

Chris Tomlin again leads nominations for Dove Awards

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (BP)–Chris Tomlin led all artists with nine nominations for Dove Awards for the second year in a row when nominees for Christian music’s top honors were announced Feb. 20 in Nashville, Tenn.

Others leading the nominations for the Gospel Music Association’s 38th annual awards are Jars of Clay with six and The Crabb Family with five.

Winners from 42 categories will be announced during the GMA Music Awards April 25 at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville, Tenn. The show will be aired in national syndication in May.

Nominated in key categories are:

Artist of the year: Casting Crowns, The Crabb Family, Jars of Clay, Stellar Kart, Third Day, TobyMac and Chris Tomlin.

Male vocalist of the year: Jeremy Camp, Mark Hall, Mat Kearney, Aaron Shust and Chris Tomlin.

Female vocalist of the year: Natalie Grant, Krystal Meyers, Christy Nockels, Nichole Nordeman and Rebecca St. James.

Group of the year: BarlowGirl, Casting Crowns, David Crowder Band, Jars of Clay and MercyMe.

New artist of the year: DecembeRadio, Leeland, Pocket Full of Rocks, Aaron Shust and Ayiesha Woods.

Song of the year: “Bless the Broken Road” (Marcus Hummon, Bobby E. Boyd, Jeff Hanna); “Cry Out to Jesus” (Mac Powell); “Drifter” (Josh Reedy, Brian Bunn, Erik Miker, Boone Daughdrill); “God’s Still God” (Johnathan Bond); “Imagine Me” (Kirk Franklin); “Made to Worship” (Stephan Sharp, Ed Cash, Chris Tomlin); “Me and Jesus” (Adam Agee, Ian Eskelin); “My Savior My God” (Aaron Shust); “Nothing Left to Lose” (Mat Kearney); and “Praise You In The Storm” (Mark Hall, Bernie Herms).

The songwriter of the year nominees and winner will not be announced until the GMA Music Awards.

Founded in 1964, the 4,000-member Gospel Music Association represents all styles of gospel music, including contemporary pop, rock, urban gospel, praise & worship, Southern gospel, country and children’s gospel music.
The full list of nominees can be accessed at the Gospel Music Association’s www.gospelmusic.org website.

    About the Author

  • Staff