News Articles

Dodd Award for CP Missions support to be presented to James L. Sullivan

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (BP)–Former Baptist Sunday School Board President James L. Sullivan has been named the recipient of this year’s M.E. Dodd Cooperative Program award to be presented June 12 during the annual meeting of the Southern Baptist Convention in New Orleans. Morris H. Chapman, president and chief executive officer of the SBC Executive Committee, made the announcement.

The Dodd Award was introduced during last year’s SBC annual meeting in Orlando, Fla., and recognizes a minister, layman, church or institution with a long history of distinguished support for the Cooperative Program (CP Missions).

“Dr. Sullivan has been a strong supporter and defender of CP Missions throughout his entire ministry,” Chapman said. “He has seen the impact and influence it has made in the lives of literally millions of people.”

“I think the Cooperative Program is the number one achievement of our convention in its entire history,” Sullivan said in a video produced by the Mississippi Baptist Convention. “Much depends on this generation to keep the Cooperative Program not only alive, but growing stronger all the time.”

A native of Mississippi, Sullivan served as the president of the Baptist Sunday School Board from 1953-75. He also served as president of the Southern Baptist Convention in 1977 and has authored seven books.

The M.E. Dodd Cooperative Program Award was created in honor of M.E. Dodd, longtime pastor of the First Baptist Church, Shreveport, La. Dodd chaired the Future Program Commission, which recommended to the 1925 Southern Baptist Convention that it create the Cooperative Program.

Each year’s M.E. Dodd Award recipient, recommended by the president of the Executive Committee, is recognized as a strong supporter of the Southern Baptist Convention and exemplifies the spirit of cooperation and missions.

The first M.E. Dodd Cooperative Program Award was presented to Jim Henry, pastor of First Baptist Church, Orlando, during the 2000 Southern Baptist Convention as part of the 75th anniversary celebration of the Cooperative Program.

    About the Author

  • Staff