News Articles

Resolutions Committee named for 2010 SBC

ORLANDO, Fla. (BP)–SBC President Johnny Hunt has named the members of the Resolutions Committee who will serve during the June 15-16 Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in Orlando, Fla.

Hunt, pastor of the Atlanta-area First Baptist Church in Woodstock, appointed the committee in keeping with the provision in SBC Bylaw 20 that its members be named 75 days prior to the start of the annual meeting.

Hunt named Russell Moore of Kentucky as committee chairman. Moore is dean of the school of theology and senior vice president for academic administration at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Ky.

The other committee members, in alphabetical order, are:

— Kie Bowman, senior pastor of Hyde Park Baptist Church in Austin, Texas.

— Gary Crawford, senior pastor of Westside Baptist Church in Gainesville, Fla.

— Mike Daniels, campus pastor of the Church at Pinnacle Hills in Rogers, Ark., a campus of First Baptist Church in Springdale, Ark.

— Paul Fleming, executive pastor of Forestville Baptist Church in Travelers Rest, S.C.

— Paul Jimenez, associate pastor for global missions at Johnson Ferry Baptist Church in Marietta, Ga.

— Jim Law, pastor of First Baptist Church in Gonzales, La.

— Shane Russell, pastor of Shoal Creek Church in Deatsville, Ala.

— Kevin Smith, pastor of Watson Memorial Baptist Church in Louisville, Ky.

— Stephen Wilson, vice president for academic affairs at Mid-Continent University in Mayfield, Ky.

The committee’s composition, according to Bylaw 20, must include at least two members who served the previous year, with Russell and Smith meeting this requirement. Bylaw 20 also stipulates that the committee include at least three SBC Executive Committee members. This year they are Wilson, Fleming and Law.

The procedure for submitting resolutions is as follows according to Bylaw 20:

— Proposed resolutions may be submitted as early as April 15 but no later than 15 days prior to the SBC annual meeting, giving the Resolutions Committee a two-week period in which to consider submissions. Resolutions may no longer be submitted during the annual meeting.

— Proposed resolutions must be accompanied by a letter from a church qualified to send a messenger to the SBC annual meeting certifying that the individual submitting the resolution is a member in good standing.

— Proposed resolutions preferably should be submitted by e-mail or mailed to the Resolutions Committee in care of the SBC Executive Committee. The drafts must be typewritten, titled, dated and include complete contact information for the person and his or her church.

— No person will be allowed to submit more than three resolutions per year.

— If a properly submitted resolution is not forwarded by the Resolutions Committee to the SBC annual meeting, a two-thirds vote of messengers would be required to bring the proposed resolution to the convention floor.
Compiled by Baptist Press staff. All resolutions adopted by the SBC can be searched and read on the Web at https://www.sbc.net/resolutions/AMResSearch.asp.

    About the Author

  • Staff