News Articles

Seminary Extension names 2 ‘directors of the year’

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (BP)–Victor Lyons of Cordele, Ga., and Andrew Pratt of Cape Girardeau, Mo., have been named “Seminary Extension Center Directors of the Year” for 2000. Lyons is director of the year for centers east of the Mississippi; Pratt for west of the Mississippi.

Lyons has led the Extension Center of Houston Baptist Association in Georgia since 1998. In just three years the center has had a major impact in developing and training church leaders around Cordele, as well as in adjacent associations.

Of its 37 students, some have been called to the ministry. Others have been led to further their education at Baptist schools and seminaries. Bivocational pastors testify the courses they have taken have improved their preaching, confirmed their sense of call and helped clarify the purpose of the church. Churches the students serve have benefited from better leadership.

Pratt is the campus minister and teacher at the Baptist Student Center in Cape Girardeau, where Southeast Missouri State University is located.

For the past 12 years, the Baptist Student Center and five associations — Cape Girardeau, Charleston, Cane Creek-Stoddard, Southeast Missouri and Black River — have worked together to provide Seminary Extension classes.

Classes have been taught at the Student Center and out in the associations. Pratt works with the associations and their churches helping to locate and certify teachers, plan curriculum and order materials.

Under his guidance, the Student Center has provided funds to pay teachers’ stipends and expenses. This frees the associations to use their funds for student scholarships. The result has been more affordable, and smaller classes.

Seminary Extension has more than 500 extension centers, located in nearly every state as well as overseas. Many centers, as well as churches and associations, will celebrate Seminary Extension’s 50th Anniversary at a time of their choice during 2001.

Seminary Extension’s birthdate, June 15, 1951, will be officially recognized this coming June during the Southern Baptist Convention’s annual meeting in New Orleans.
(BP) photos posted in the BP Photo Library at www.bpnews.net. Photo titles: VICTOR LYONS and ANDREW PRATT.

    About the Author

  • Leonard Hill