News Articles

Southwestern names W. Madison Grace II as provost

Baptist Press file photo

Editor’s note: This story was updated after initial publication to correct the nature of Matt Queen’s appointment as interim provost.

FORT WORTH, Texas (BP) – A new provost and new interim dean for the Roy J. Fish School of Evangelism and Missions are some recent academic leadership updates at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary.

W. Madison Grace II

President David S. Dockery announced today (July 12) that W. Madison Grace II will be provost as well as vice president for academic administration and dean of the School of Theology.

Grace follows Matt Queen, who was announced as interim provost at last fall’s trustee meeting and remains listed as professor of evangelism and the L.R. Scarborough Chair of Evangelism.

The seminary announced in May that Queen was to teach an Evangelistic Preaching class alongside SWBTS Chancellor O.S. Hawkins this fall. However, the school’s online class schedule shows that Scott Maze, senior pastor of Cross Church DFW, will replace Queen for that course.

Dean Sieberhagen, associate professor of Islamic Studies, will be interim dean of the Roy J. Fish School of Evangelism and Missions. He replaces John Massey, who recently accepted several roles with the Baptist College of Florida. In addition to serving as professor of missions and dean of graduate studies, Massey will be the executive director for BCF’s off-campus sites.

“I know you join with me in thanking God for the many good ways that John has contributed to the Southwestern community,” said SWBTS President David Dockery in an email to staff.

Carl J. Bradford

Carl J. Bradford, assistant professor of evangelism, was named interim associate dean of the Fish School. The inaugural occupant of the Malcolm R. and Melba L. McDow Chair of Evangelism, he has served as assistant professor of evangelism at Southwestern since 2018.

The new appointments come with Hawkins’ and Board of Trustees Chairman Jonathan Richard’s “full support,” Dockery said.

Grace began teaching at SWBTS in 2014 as assistant professor of Baptist history and theology and has served as interim dean of the School of Theology since January. He holds Master of Divinity with biblical languages (2006) and Doctor of Philosophy in systematic theology (2012) degrees from Southwestern.

“The Lord has been preparing Dr. Madison Grace for this role at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary since I first met him,” tweeted Malcolm Yarnell, SWBTS research professor of theology. “Another great appointment by our President.”

Dean Sieberhagen

Sieberhagen joined SWBTS in 2013, a year after completing 13 years of service as an International Mission Board missionary in Central Asia. The native of South Africa has served as associate professor of Islamic Studies, Vernon D. and Jeannette Davidson Chair of Missions and director of the Islamic Studies Program at Southwestern.

Sieberhagen earned a Doctor of Philosophy from the University of South Africa (2013) and a Master of Divinity from Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary (2001).

Bradford, who has led Southwestern’s Crossover teams at the SBC annual meeting the last six years, earned his Master of Divinity (2011) and Ph.D. (2018) degrees at SWBTS.

All new roles are effective immediately, SWBTS said in a press release.

Continuing in their current roles with expanded responsibilities are Mark Taylor, associate dean of the School of Theology; Travis Trawick, associate provost for academic services; and Trey Moss, associate vice president for academic administration. Trawick, associate provost since June 2021, will focus on institutional effectiveness, and Moss, who came to Southwestern in 2019, will have an enhanced role related to academic strategy and programs.

Other academic leaders of the seminary who will continue in their current roles are Chris Shirley, dean of the Jack D. Terry School of Educational Ministries; Joseph R. Crider, dean of the School of Church Music and Worship; M. Todd Bates, dean of Texas Baptist College; and Terri Stovall, dean of women.