News Articles

TRUSTEES: Former NFL QB among new faculty

FORT WORTH, Texas (BP) — Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary’s trustees elected and promoted several faculty members, including a former NFL quarterback, during their mid-April spring meeting.

David Klingler, former University of Houston standout who finished fifth in the 1990 Heisman Trophy vote, was among three elected to the seminary’s faculty. He was a five–year quarterback with the Cincinnati Bengals and Oakland Raiders

Klingler, the sixth pick overall in the 1992 NFL Draft, was elected as assistant professor of biblical studies at Southwestern’s Havard School of Theological Studies in Houston. He taught at the campus as an adjunct professor from 2008-10 and has served as executive director and assistant professor of Old Testament studies at Dallas Theological Seminary’s Houston campus from 2010 to present.

Klingler received his Ph.D. from DTS in 2010 and has served in ministry positions at Redeemer Community Church in Katy, Texas, as well as Second Baptist Church in Houston.

Trustees also elected John Massey as associate professor of missions in the Roy Fish School of Evangelism and Missions. Massey, who graduated with his Ph.D. from Southwestern in 2000, has served as a team strategy leader in southern Malaysia and Singapore with the International Mission Board and as a chaplain in the U.S. Air Force Reserves with the North American Mission Board. Additionally, he has been a lecturer and adjunct professor at Singapore Baptist Theological Seminary and Union University in Jackson, Tenn.

John Yeo, the third new faculty member, will serve as assistant professor of Old Testament. Yeo earned his Ph.D. from St. Michael’s College at the University of Toronto. He has taught at Reformed Theological Seminary since 2003 as well as serving in pastoral ministry at several churches.

Trustees promoted five faculty members:

Robert Bernard to professor of modern languages

Jason Lee to professor of historical theology

Malcolm Yarnell to professor of systematic theology

Paul Hoskins and John Taylor to associate professors of New Testament

And three professors were elected to occupy academic chairs:

Thomas Kiker to the James T. Draper Jr. Chair of Pastoral Ministry

Terry Wilder to the Wesley Harrison Chair of New Testament

David Penley to the Hope for the Heart Chair of Biblical Counseling

In other business during their April 11 meeting, trustees received an update on new student housing under construction. Phase 1 of the project, encompassing 112 units, will open in the fall 2012.

Trustees re-elected Hance Dilbeck of Oklahoma as chairman, Jimmy Jackson of Alabama as vice chairman and Harlan Lee of Arizona as secretary. Dilbeck is pastor of Quail Springs Baptist Church in Oklahoma City.

Craig Blaising was recognized for his 10 years of service as Southwestern’s executive vice president and provost. During the recognition, President Paige Patterson said Blaising “made a substantive difference from the very first day he stepped on this campus.”
Keith Collier is director of news and information for Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth, Texas (www.swbts.edu/campusnews).

    About the Author

  • Keith Collier