News Articles

Baptist Press Committee on Nominations membership announced

SALT LAKE CITY (BP)–Seventy Southern Baptists from 35 state Baptist conventions have been named to serve on the 1999 SBC Committee on Nominations.
The Committee on Nominations will nominate persons to serve on SBC boards, commissions and committees. They will present their report to the 1999 SBC annual meeting in Atlanta.
The committee is made up of two people from each state convention — one layperson and one in church-related vocational work.
Committee on Nominations members are selected by the Committee on Committees.
Rex M. Terry of Fort Smith, Ark., will chair the Committee on Nominations. Committee members, listed by state, name and church, are: (an “*” indicates layperson from each state)
Alabama: *Rebecca R. Enfinger, Thomasville, Thomasville Baptist Church, Thomasville; John Steven Gaines, Gardendale, First Baptist Church, Gardendale.
Alaska: Terry Hill, Anchorage, Rabbit Creek Community Church, Anchorage; *Robert Earl Reid, Palmer, First Baptist Church, Palmer.
Arizona: William R. Guttry, Mesa, Arizona Avenue Baptist Church, Chandler; *Carolyn Tuggle Yuma, Foothills Southern Baptist Church, Yuma.
Arkansas: Samuel W. Moore, Gravette, First Baptist Church, Gravette; *Rex M. Terry, Chairman, Forth Smith, First Baptist Church, Fort Smith.
California: Doyle Braden, Brea, First Southern Baptist Church, Buena Park, *Sid Peterson, Bakersfield, Westchester Baptist Church, Bakersfield.
Colorado: Mel R. McClellan, Rifle, Rocky Mountain Baptist Church, Rifle; *Laurie Carlisle Sellars, Aurora, Central Baptist Church, Aurora.
District of Columbia: *Charles Harding, Jr., Fort Washington, Md., Fort Foote Baptist Church, Fort Washington; Gary K. Javens, Silver Spring, Md., Clifton Park Baptist Church, Silver Spring, Md.
Florida: *James W. Graham, Longwood, First Baptist Church, Sweetwater, Longwood; Harold V. Wynn, North Fort Myers, Northside Baptist Church, Fort Myers.
Georgia: Jerry Wayne Peele, Eastman, First Baptist Church, Eastman; *Randy Redd, Sewanee, First Baptist Church, Snellville.
Hawaii: Stanley Shiroma, Waianae, Waianae Baptist Church, Waianae; *Morris Takushi, Honolulu, Nuuanu Baptist Church, Honolulu.
Illinois: Jim Duncan, Mount Vernon, Second Baptist Church, Mount Vernon; *Gail F. Patterson, Forsyth, Tabernacle Baptist Church, Decatur.
Indiana: James Bullock, Sellersburg, Colgate Baptist Church, Clarksville; *Sara A. Burk, Evansville, Grace Baptist Church, Evansville.
Kansas-Nebraska: *Nancy Bullock, Wichita, Immanuel Baptist Church, Wichita; Richard Edds, Eldorado, First Southern Baptist Church, Eldorada.
Kentucky: *Wanda Daniels, Crestwood, Springdale Baptist Church, Louisville; Walter Davis, Radcliff, Stithton Baptist Church, Radcliff.
Louisiana: Bobby W. Bonds, Oakdale, Mount Hope Baptist Church, Oakdale; *Will D. Moody, Lake Charles, First Baptist Church of Gillis, Lake Charles.
Maryland-Delaware: *Roy Stelter, Columbia, Bethel Baptist Church, Ellicott City, Md.; Tim S. Trexler, Baltimore, Lee Street Memorial Baptist Church, Baltimore.
Michigan: Charles Dill, White Lake, South Hill Baptist Church, Milford; *Drexel Meyers, Trenton, First Baptist Church, Riverview.
Mississippi: *Randy H. Russell, Flowood, First Baptist Church, Jackson; Dean Stewart, Magee, Corinth Baptist Church. Magee.
Missouri: *Kerry K. Messer, Festus, Bloomsdale Baptist Church, Bloomsdale; David J. Tolliver, Florissant, Oak Hill Baptist Church, St. Louis.
Nevada: *Mike Herschbach, Reno, South Reno Baptist Church, Reno; Sam Stanton, Fallon, First Southern Baptist Church, Fallon.
New England: Bruce Inpyn, Hamden, Ct., Friendship Baptist Church, Litchfield, CT; C. Richard Risas, Worcester, Mass., First Baptist Church, Shrewsbury, Mass.
New Mexico: David Sims, Los Alamos, First Baptist Church, Los Alamos; *C.M. Sparkman, Hobbs, First Baptist Church, Hobbs.
New York: *T. Van McClain, Scotia, Trinity Baptist Church, Niskayuna; Sean Pierce, Potsdam, Emmanuel Baptist Church, Potsdam.
North Carolina: Larry H. Burns,Gastonia, Lighthouse Baptist Church, Gastonia; *James Franklin Guy, Raeford, First Baptist Church, Raeford.
Northwest: Tillman Crownover, Bonners Ferry, Idaho, First Baptist Church, Bonners Ferry, Idaho; *Roger Russell, Hayden Lake, Idaho, Green Acres Baptist Church, Green Acres, Wash.
Ohio: *Ronald Gordon Byrd, Morrow, Morrow Baptist Church, Morrow; Steve Spurgin, Miamisburg, First Baptist Church, Miamisburg.
Oklahoma: *Jim W. Dawson, Broken Arrow, First Baptist Church, Broken Arrow; Robert Dale Griffin, Oklahoma City, Brockwood Baptist Church, Oklahoma City.
Pennsylvania-South Jersey: Jerry W. Dixon, Sr., York Springs, Memorial Baptist Church, Gettysburg; *Melvin Pugh, Willow Street, Willow Street Baptist Chapel, Willow Street, Pa.
South Carolina: Howard Allen, Florence, South Florence Baptist Church, Florence; *Iris Bearden, Fountain Inn, First Baptist Church, Fountain Inn.
Tennessee: Dean Haun, Old Hickory, Hermitage Hills Baptist Church, Hermitage; *Bobby G. Maxwell, Millington, First Baptist Church, Millington.
Texas: John M. Meador, Irving, MacArthur Blvd. Baptist Church, Irving; *James Shelby Sharpe, Fort Worth, Birchman Avenue Baptist Church, Fort Worth.
Utah-Idaho: *Judy Barking, Ogden, Utah, First Southern Baptist Church, Salt Lake City; Clint Henry, Meridian, Idaho, Cherry Lane Baptist Church, Meridian, Idaho.
Virginia: John T. Howeth, Ruther Glen, Cardinal Baptist Church, Ruther Glen; *John Simms, Salem, First Baptist Church, Roanoke.
West Virginia: Richard Eric Bowden, Dunbar, North Charleston Baptist Church, Charleston; *Lacy W. Shrewbury, Princeton, First Baptist Church, Princeton.
Wyoming: *Mark Largent, Kaycee, Big Horn Baptist Church, Buffalo; David L. Schroeder, Cheyenne, North Cheyenne Baptist Church, Cheyenne.