News Articles

Brandon Lake leads 54th Dove Award nominations

NASHVILLE (BP) – Nominations for the 54th annual Gospel Music Association Dove Awards were highlighted by Brandon Lake’s 11 nods, which include Artist of the Year, and multiple nominations for Worship Recorded Song of the Year.

Lake, a three-time Dove Award winner, received nominations for his single “Gratitude (Radio Version),” as well as “Honey In The Rock” along with Brooke Ligertwood, and for a feature credit on “Fear Is Not My Future (Radio Version)” by Maverick City Music.

Other songs nominated in the category include “Holy Forever” by Chris Tomlin and “This Is Our God” by Phil Wickham. Lake won the award in 2021 along with Elevation Worship for their song “Graves Into Gardens.”

“I want to congratulate this year’s wonderful list of Dove Awards nominees,” GMA President Jackie Patillo said in a statement. “Each year, we choose a theme to represent our community and why we celebrate. Today we announced this year’s theme, Joyful Echo. Like it says in Isaiah 42:12 from The Message, ‘Make God’s glory resound, echo His praises from coast to coast.’ We expect and believe this year’s show will be a joyful echo of the love of Jesus.”

The remaining nominations for Artist of The Year include CeCe Winans, for KING+COUNTRY, Lauren Daigle and Phil Wickham.

Song of the Year nods went to “Build a Boat,” “Fear Is Not My Future,” “God Really Loves Us,” “Goodness of God,” “Gratitude,” “In Jesus’ Name (God of Possible),” “Love Me Like I Am,” “Perfectly Loved,” “Same God” and “Then Christ Came.”

Other artists receiving multiple nominations include Kirk Franklin, Jeff Pardo, Katy Nichole, Lauren Daigle, Jason Ingram and Tasha Cobbs Leonard.

Notable country music stars receiving their first nominations include Dylan Scott, Tyler Childers and Walker Hayes.

Other noteworthy artists nominated include MercyMe, Lecrae, TobyMac, David Crowder and Zach Williams.

A full list of nominations can be viewed here.

The GMA Dove Awards event will be held Oct. 17 in Nashville, and will later air exclusively on TBN and the TBN app on Friday, Oct. 20 at 8 and 10 p.m. Eastern.