News Articles

Jamie Grace among Dove Awards nominees

ATLANTA (BP) — Nineteen-year-old Grammy nominee Jamie Grace became one to watch at the upcoming 43rd annual Dove Awards.

Winners of this year’s awards, which honor Christian music’s top artists, will be announced April 19 at Atlanta’s Fox Theater.

In the Feb. 22 announcement of nominees, Grace was listed for new artist of the year, song of the year for “Hold Me” and pop/contemporary album of the year for “One Step at a Time.” Hold Me also was nominated for a Grammy this year for best contemporary Christian song of the year.

“This is an event that has a history of bringing together people who are not only giving us a new favorite song to sing but who are anointed with a heavenly message,” Jackie Patillo, executive director of the Gospel Music Association, said of the Dove Awards.

Following is a list of nominees for some of the top awards:

SONG OF THE YEAR: “Hold Me” (Jamie Grace), “Alive” (Natalie Grant), “Blessings” (Laura Story), “Celebrate Me Home” (Perrys), “Glorious Day (Living He Loved Me)” (Casting Crowns), “I Smile” (Kirk Franklin), “I’ve Been Here Before” (Ernie Haase & Signature Sound), “Please Forgive Me” (Gaither Vocal Band), “Who Am I” (Jason Crabb), “Your Great Name” (Natalie Grant).

MALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Chris August, Chris Tomlin, Jason Crabb, Kirk Franklin, Steven Curtis Chapman.

FEMALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Francesca Battistelli, Kari Jobe, Laura Story, Mandisa, Natalie Grant.

GROUP OF THE YEAR: Casting Crowns, David Crowder Band, Gaither Vocal Band, NEEDTOBREATHE, The Isaacs.

ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Jason Crabb, Laura Story, LeCrae, The Isaacs.

NEW ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Jamie Grace, Beyond The Ashes, Dara Maclean, Royal Tailor, The City Harmonic.
Compiled by Baptist Press assistant editor Erin Roach. Read a complete list of nominees at www.doveawards.com/nominees.php. Get Baptist Press headlines and breaking news on Twitter (@BaptistPress), Facebook (Facebook.com/BaptistPress) and in your email (baptistpress.com/SubscribeBP.asp).

    About the Author

  • Staff