News Articles

NAMB video productions receive 11 Telly Awards

ALPHARETTA, Ga. (BP)–Eleven broadcast and video productions by the North American Mission Board have been named winners or finalists in the 23rd annual Telly Awards competition.

More than 11,000 commercials, films and video projects competed against a high national standard of excellence for two award levels — the silver “winner” award and the bronze “finalist” honor.

Two productions by the Fort Worth, Texas,-based FamilyNet and one by NAMB’s Alpharetta-based electronic media team were recipients of the highest-level Silver Telly.

In Alpharetta, producer Wolf Schumacher and editor Roger Mahr received a Silver Telly for “The Cross or the Crescent” — a video production examining Islam in the United States and how it compares to Christianity.

At FamilyNet, producer Gayla Golden won for the “Country Crossroads” television show, while producer Trish Ragsdale won for “The Ones Left Standing” — a musical tribute to the rescue workers responding to the Sept. 11 terrorist attack on New York that aired on “At Home – Live!” Ragsdale also received a Bronze Telly for “At Home – Live!”

Other Bronze Telly-winning producers at FamilyNet included Chris Graham for an episode of “The Call” titled “Looking for Love;” Bernie Hargis for “We Shall Not Be Moved,” a documentary on the role of the churches in the civil rights movement; and David Hill, for the Ricky Skaggs concert video “Soldiers of the Cross.”

Alpharetta winners of the Bronze Telly included two segments of “E-ssentials for the On Mission Church” — a bimonthly package of short video clips designed for use in worship services, as sermon illustrations and in other settings. Producer Cheryl Collins won for “Love Never Fails. Do You?” while Paul Wynn produced “Finding Christ in Crisis.”

Producer Tony Hudson won Bronze Telly awards for two promotional videos, one for the “FiSH!” campus evangelism strategy and another for the “Philadelphia Spirit: Let Caring Ring” Strategic Focus Cities outreach effort.

    About the Author

  • Staff