News Articles

Resolutions Committee named for 2011 SBC

PHOENIX (BP)–SBC President Bryant Wright has named the members of the Resolutions Committee who will serve during the June 14-15 Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in Phoenix.

Wright, pastor of the Atlanta-area Johnson Ferry Baptist Church in Marietta, appointed the committee in keeping with the provision in SBC Bylaw 20 that its members be named 75 days prior to the start of the annual meeting.

Wright named Paul Jimenez of South Carolina as committee chairman. Jimenez is pastor of Taylors First Baptist Church in Taylors, S.C.

The other committee members, in alphabetical order, are:

— Allan Blume, senior pastor, Mount Vernon Baptist Church, Boone, N.C.

— Linda Clark, member, Graceland Baptist Church, New Albany, Ind.

— Stephen Farish, senior pastor, Crossroads Church, Grayslake, Ill.

— Mark Howell, senior pastor, Houston Northwest Church, Houston, Texas.

— Tim McCoy, senior pastor, Ingleside Baptist Church, Macon, Ga.

— Russell Moore, dean of the School of Theology and senior vice president for academic administration at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary and teaching pastor for Highview Baptist Church, Louisville, Ky.

— Michael Pigg, senior pastor, Philadelphia Baptist Church, Lithonia, Ga.

— Jimmy Scroggins, senior pastor, First Baptist Church, West Palm Beach, Fla.

— Carol Yarber, member, First Baptist Church, Malakoff, Texas.

The committee’s composition, according to Bylaw 20, must include at least two members who served the previous year, with Jimenez and Moore meeting this requirement. Bylaw 20 also stipulates that the committee include at least three SBC Executive Committee members. This year they are Blume, Howell and Yarber.

The procedure for submitting resolutions is as follows according to Bylaw 20:

— Proposed resolutions may be submitted as early as April 15 but no later than 15 days prior to the SBC annual meeting, giving the Resolutions Committee a two-week period in which to consider submissions. Resolutions may no longer be submitted during the annual meeting.

— Proposed resolutions must be accompanied by a letter from a church qualified to send a messenger to the SBC annual meeting certifying that the individual submitting the resolution is a member in good standing.

— Proposed resolutions preferably should be submitted by e-mail or mailed to the Resolutions Committee in care of the SBC Executive Committee, 901 Commerce St., Nashville, TN 37203. The drafts must be typewritten, titled, dated and include complete contact information for the person and his or her church.

— No person will be allowed to submit more than three resolutions per year.

— If a properly submitted resolution is not forwarded by the Resolutions Committee to the SBC annual meeting, a two-thirds vote of messengers would be required to bring the proposed resolution to the convention floor.
Compiled by Baptist Press staff. All resolutions adopted by the SBC can be searched and read on the Web at www.sbc.net/resolutions/AMResSearch.asp.

    About the Author

  • Staff