News Articles

SBC 2015 schedule released

COLUMBUS, Ohio (BP) — The Southern Baptist Convention Committee on Order of Business has released this year’s schedule for the annual meeting in Columbus.

This year’s annual meeting theme is “Great Awakening: Clear Agreement, Visible Union, Extraordinary Prayer,” based on Romans 13:11. In addition to following the schedule, messengers can stay updated on this year’s annual meeting with the 2015 SBC mobile app that is now available. The app can be downloaded on your mobile device by accessing the App Store or Google Play or selecting one of the options at sbcannualmeeting.net. This year’s preferred Twitter hashtag will be #sbc15.

SBC 2015 schedule


8:15 Opening Worship — Julio Arriola, Convention music director, global worship pastor, Cross Church, Springdale, Ark.

8:25 Welcome and Call to Order — Ronnie Floyd, SBC president, senior pastor, Cross Church, Springdale, Ark.

Announcement of Committee on Committees, Credentials Committee, Tellers Committee, and Resolutions Committee

8:30 Scripture — Jordan Easley, senior pastor, Englewood Baptist Church, Jackson, Tenn.

Prayer — Daniel Cho, college pastor, Antioch Baptist Church, Cambridge, Mass., chaplain, Harvard University

8:35 Registration Report and Constitution of Convention — Jim Wells, SBC registration secretary, strategic partners team leader, Missouri Baptist Convention, Jefferson City, Mo.

8:38 Committee on Order of Business (First Report) — Andrew Hebert, chairman, lead pastor, Taylor Memorial Baptist Church, Hobbs, N.M.

8:43 Acknowledgment of Columbus Volunteers — Ronnie Floyd

8:45 Welcome to Columbus — Brian Frye, collegiate evangelism strategist, State Convention of Baptists in Ohio, Columbus, Ohio, national collegiate strategist, North American Mission Board

8:48 Response from SBC — Jarrett Stephens, teaching pastor, Prestonwood Baptist Church, Plano, Texas

8:51 Crossover Report — Al Gilbert, vice president, evangelism, North American Mission Board, Alpharetta, Ga., and Rich Halcombe, director of missions, Metro Columbus Baptist Association, Columbus, Ohio

8:56 The Pledge of Allegiance and a 50th Anniversary Tribute to Vietnam Veterans — Ronnie Floyd joined by Gen. Doug Carver, executive director of chaplaincy, North American Mission Board, Alpharetta, Ga.

9:02 The National Anthem: “The Star-Spangled Banner” — Julio Arriola


9:10 Introduction of Past Presidents — Ronnie Floyd

9:15 Introduction of the President and Family — Jack Graham, senior pastor, Prestonwood Baptist Church, Plano, Texas

9:18 Prayer for the President — James T. (Jimmy) Draper, president emeritus, LifeWay Christian Resources, SBC president 1982-1984, First Baptist Church, Euless, Texas

9:23 Worship — Julio Arriola

9:30 President’s Address — Ronnie Floyd

10:10 Response to God and Worship — Julio Arriola

10:20 Joint Seminary Presentation and Reports — Charles S. Kelley Jr., president, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, New Orleans; Paige Patterson, president, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth; Daniel L. Akin, president, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, N.C.; R. Albert Mohler Jr., president, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky.; Jason K. Allen, president, Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Kansas City; Jeff Iorg, president, Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary, Mill Valley, Calif.

11:45 Closing Prayer — Tommy Green, senior pastor, First Baptist Church, Brandon, Fla.


1:15 Opening Worship — Julio Arriola

1:25 Scripture — Terry M. Turner, pastor, Mesquite Friendship Baptist Church, Mesquite, Texas

Prayer — Bobby S. Sena, Hispanic relations consultant, SBC Executive Committee, Atlanta

1:30 Introduction of New Motions (First Opportunity) — Ronnie Floyd

1:45 Executive Committee Report (Part One) – Frank S. Page, president and CEO, SBC Executive Committee, Nashville, Tenn.

2:20 Election of Officers (First)

2:30 GuideStone Financial Resources Report — O.S. Hawkins, president and CEO, Guidestone Financial Resources, Dallas

2:42 Introduction of New Motions (Last Opportunity) — Ronnie Floyd

2:52 Committee on Committees Report — Bryan E. Smith, chairman, pastor, First Baptist Church, Roanoke, Va.

3:02 Committee on Nominations Report — John S. (Chip) Hutcheson, chairman, newspaper publisher, Princeton, Ky.

3:12 Worship — Julio Arriola

3:17 Executive Committee Report (Part Two) — Frank S. Page

3:57 Election of Officers (Second)

4:05 Committee on Order of Business Report (Second) — Andrew Hebert

Election of 2016 Convention Preacher, Alternate Preacher and Music Director

4:12 Election of Officers (Third)

4:17 Election of Officers (Fourth)

4:22 Election of Officers (Fifth)

4:27 Committee on Resolutions Report — Steve Gaines, chairman, pastor, Bellevue Baptist Church, Cordova, Tenn.

4:57 Closing Prayer — Grant Etheridge, senior pastor, Liberty Baptist Church, Hampton, Va.



6:30 Worship Prelude — Julio Arriola

6:45 A National Call for Prayer to All Southern Baptists for the Next Great Awakening and to Reach the World for Christ — led by Ronnie Floyd and other SBC pastors/leaders

(See SBC Bulletin: Tuesday, Part 2 for more details)


8:15 Opening Worship — Julio Arriola

8:25 Scripture — Adam Greenway, dean, Billy Graham School of Missions, Evangelism, and Ministry, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky.

Prayer — George Russ, executive director, Metropolitan New York Baptist Association, New York, N.Y.

8:30 Committee on Order of Business Report (Third) — Andrew Hebert

8:45 Woman’s Missionary Union Report — Wanda Lee, executive director/treasurer, Woman’s Missionary Union, Birmingham, Ala.

8:57 Disaster Relief Emphasis

9:00 North American Mission Board Report — Kevin Ezell, president, North American Mission Board, Alpharetta, Ga.

9:12 Global Hunger Relief Emphasis

9:15 International Mission Board Report — David Platt, president, International Mission Board, Richmond, Va.

9:27 Presentation of Officers — Frank S. Page

9:40 Church and Mission Sending Celebration: Joint Commissioning Service — Kevin Ezell, David Platt and Ronnie Floyd

11:45 Closing Prayer – Jeremy Roberts, lead pastor, Church of the Highlands, Chattanooga, Tennessee


2:15 Opening Worship — Julio Arriola

2:25 Scripture — James D. (Sonny) Tucker, executive director, Arkansas Baptist State Convention, Little Rock, Ark.

Prayer — Cliff Woodman, president, Small Church Bivocational Pastors’ Network, pastor, Emmanuel Baptist Church, Carlinville, Ill.

2:30 Previously Scheduled Business — Ronnie Floyd

2:40 LifeWay Christian Resources Report — Thom S. Rainer, president and CEO, LifeWay Christian Resources, Nashville, Tenn.

2:52 LifeWay Christian Resources Presentation — Thom S. Rainer

3:05 Worship — Julio Arriola

3:10 Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission Report — Russell Moore, president, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission, Nashville, Tenn.

3:22 Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission Presentation — Russell D. Moore

3:35 The President’s Panel: “The Supreme Court and Same-Sex Marriage: Preparing our Churches” (See SBC Bulletin: Tuesday, Part 2 for more details)

4:20 Worship — Julio Arriola

4:30 Convention Sermon — Eddie Bumpers, pastor, Crossway Baptist Church, Springfield, Mo.

5:00 Prayer of Response — Bruce P. Frank, lead pastor, Biltmore Baptist Church, Arden, N.C.

5:05 Worship — Julio Arriola

5:10 Columbus Hands Off to St. Louis

5:15 Closing Prayer — Dean Fulks, lead pastor, Lifepoint Church, Lewis Center, Ohio

    About the Author

  • Staff