News Articles

Tomlin, TobyMac lead Dove nominees

ATLANTA (BP)–Chris Tomlin and TobyMac each received six nominations followed by Jason Crabb with five and Francesca Battistelli with four as the nominees for the 42nd annual Dove Awards were announced Feb. 16.

The awards, which honor Christian music’s top artists, will be handed out April 20 at Atlanta’s Fox Theatre and be broadcast on the Gospel Music Channel April 24 at 8 p.m. EST.

Tomlin and Crabb are up for, among other awards, song of the year, male vocalist of the year and artist of the year, while TobyMac was nominated for song of the year and artist of the year. Battistelli was nominated for song of the year, female vocalist of the year and artist of the year.

Following is a list of nominees for some of the top awards:

SONG OF THE YEAR: “All of Creation” (MercyMe), “Beautiful, Beautiful” (Francesca Battistelli), “Get Back Up” (TobyMac), “Hold My Heart” (Tenth Avenue North), “Lead Me” (Sanctus Real), “Let The Waters Rise” (MIKESCHAIR), “Love Came Calling” (Triumphant Quartet), “Our God” (Chris Tomlin), “Sometimes I Cry” (Jason Crabb), “Starry Night” (Chris August).

MALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Doug Anderson, Chris August, Jason Crabb, Brandon Heath, Israel Houghton, Marvin Sapp, Chris Tomlin.

FEMALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Audrey Assad, Francesca Battistelli, Natalie Grant, Britt Nicole, Janet Paschal, Kerrie Roberts, Laura Story.

GROUP OF THE YEAR: Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, Gaither Vocal Band, Sidewalk Prophets, Tenth Avenue North, MercyMe, MIKESCHAIR, NEEDTOBREATHE.

ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Francesca Battistelli, Jason Crabb, Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, Natalie Grant, Marvin Sapp, TobyMac, Chris Tomlin.

NEW ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Audrey Assad, Chris August, Forever Jones, John Mark McMillan, No Other Name, Kerrie Roberts, Kristian Stanfill.
Compiled by Michael Foust, associate editor of Baptist Press. Read a complete list of nominees at http://bit.ly/e5mAn5

    About the Author

  • Staff