News Articles

BP writers to cover Winter Olympics

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (BP)–The U.S. Olympic Committee has granted Baptist Press credentials for the Winter Olympics with access to all accredited venues. BP is sending Tim Ellsworth, editor of BPSports, to Vancouver to provide coverage.

Also reporting from Vancouver will be Mike Ebert, communications team leader for the North American Mission Board, who also has been credentialed and will cover ministry-related initiatives in conjunction with the Winter Games.

On-site photography is planned for much of the coverage.

“I am excited about the possible story lines that might develop during the Winter Games,” said Will Hall, executive editor of Baptist Press. “The U.S. team looks good and it will be exciting to watch Christian athletes like Erin Pac and John Napier compete. Likewise, it will be exciting to learn about the outreach and ministry of Southern Baptists and other evangelicals who are in Vancouver for the Winter Games.”

BP coverage begins today with a feature on Derek Spain, a NAMB missionary based in Lake Placid, N.Y., who will be one of the Vancouver Olympic Committee chaplains at the Athletes Village in Whistler, where many of the competitions will take place. The Games’ opening ceremony is Friday, Feb. 12.

Ellsworth, who serves as director of news and media relations for Union University, covered the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, China, writing features about various Christian athletes and how they fared in their respective competitions. His coverage received recognition in the 2009 writing competition sponsored by the Baptist Communicators Association.

In addition to his BP stories, Ellsworth will post blog entries each day during his time in Vancouver at www.bpnews.net/blog, conveying information about his experiences on the streets, at the Games and in his contacts with athletes and coaches.

Among the athletes Ellsworth expects to cover are 2006 gold medalist speedskater Chad Hedrick, women’s speedskater Rebekah Bradford and Finnish speedskater Mika Poutala; Mark Johnson, a member of the 1980 gold medal hockey team who is coaching this year’s women’s team, and team member Jinelle Zaugg-Siergiej; U.S. bobsled drivers John Napier and Erin Pac and bobsled push athlete Elana Meyers and Canadian bobsled pilot Lyndon Rush.

Baptist Press has provided in-depth Olympics coverage since the 2002 Winter Games in Salt Lake City.
Compiled by Baptist Press editor Art Toalston.

    About the Author

  • Staff