News Articles

‘The Baptist Hour’ receives ‘Milestone Award’ from NRB

DALLAS (BP)–“The Baptist Hour” received the National Religious Broadcasters’ “Milestone Award” at the National Religious Broadcasters convention Feb. 12 in Dallas.

The Milestone Award is given to a program or programmer involved in radio or television ministry for more than 50 years. The Baptist Hour is the longest-running radio program under former Southern Baptist Radio and Television Commission and its successor the Southern Baptist North American Mission Board and its FamilyNet subsidiary.

“It is a great honor for The Baptist Hour to be nominated as the recipient of the prestigious Milestone Award, said David Clark, president of FamilyNet and a former president of NRB. “We are grateful for the impact The Baptist Hour has had on countless lives.”

The first broadcast of The Baptist Hour took place in January 1941. Frank Pollard, pastor of First Baptist Church, Jackson, Miss., has been The Baptist Hour’s speaker since 1977. Syndicated nationally, The Baptist Hour is produced 52 weeks a year. The program is heard 408 times weekly on radio stations and is carried in 20 of the top 50 US radio markets.

Other FamilyNet radio programs are “On Track,” “Master Control,” “Powerline” and “Country Crossroads.” The FamilyNet radio programs are heard by over 3.7 million unduplicated adult listeners every week.

    About the Author

  • Staff