News Articles

Wright appoints Committee on Committees

NEW ORLEANS (BP) — Appointments to the Southern Baptist Convention’s Committee on Committees have been announced by SBC President Bryant Wright. Wright, pastor of Johnson Ferry Baptist Church in Marietta, GA, announced the appointments in accordance with SBC Bylaw 19 which requires that their names be released to Baptist Press no later than 45 days prior to the annual meeting.

The Committee on Committees will assemble in New Orleans just prior to the SBC annual meeting, June 19-20, to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations who, in turn, nominate trustees to serve on boards of the various entities of the SBC. SBC Bylaw 19 also provides that the Committee on Committees “shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the Convention not otherwise provided for.”

The Committee on Committees has 70 members, two from each of the 35 state or regional conventions qualified for representation on boards of SBC entities.

Buddy Champion, pastor of First Baptist Church in Trussville, Ala., has been designated as committee chairman.

Committee members are:

ALABAMA — Buddy Champion, First Baptist Church, Trussville, (chair); Timothy Cox, Liberty Baptist Church, Chelsea

ALASKA — Sherry Worthy, First Baptist Church, Willow; David George, First Baptist Church, Anchorage

ARIZONA — W. Berry Norwood, First Southern Baptist Church, Scottsdale; Mark Mucklow, First Southern Baptist Church, Glendale

ARKANSAS — Jeff Thompson, First Baptist Church, Greenwood; Craig Jenkins, Beech Street First Baptist Church, Texarkana

CALIFORNIA — David Powell, Crossroad Church, Tustin; Ray Grubb, First Southern Baptist Church, Sylmar

COLORADO — Mickey Dubs, Emmanuel Baptist Church, Sterling; Kenny Long, Bookcliff Baptist Church, Grand Junction

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA — Joseph Lyles, Fort Foote Baptist Church, Fort Washington, Md.; Kendrick Curry, Pennsylvania Avenue Baptist Church, D.C.

FLORIDA — Otto Fernandez, Riverside Baptist Church, Miami; Steve Morris, First Baptist Church, Plant City

GEORGIA — Jason Dees, First Baptist Church, Covington; Owen Bozeman, Central Baptist Church, Warner Robbins

HAWAII — Charlie Westbrook Jr., Cornerstone Fellowship Mililani Mauka, Mililani; Charles Beaucond, First Southern Baptist Church Pearl Harbor, Honolulu

ILLINOIS — Kevin Carrothers, First Baptist Church, Rochester; Wesley Feltner, Tabernacle Baptist Church, Decatur

INDIANA — Jim Bohrer, Hope Community Church, Brownsburg; Reginald Fletcher, Living Word Baptist Church, Indianapolis

KANSAS-NEBRASKA — Rob Fleener, First Southern Baptist Church, Pratt, Kan.; Charles Boswell, Immanuel Baptist Church, Wichita, Kan.

KENTUCKY — Chad Fugitt, Central Baptist Church, Corbin; Tom James, Eastwood Baptist Church, Bowling Green

LOUISIANA — Terry Booth, Amite Baptist Church, Denham Springs; Matthew Endris, Fairview Baptist Church, Coushatta

MARYLAND-DELAWARE — Byron Day, Emmanuel Baptist Church, Laurel, Md.; Ellis Prince, Gallery Church Baltimore, Baltimore, Md.

MICHIGAN — Roscoe Belton, Middlebelt Baptist Church, Inkster; Jamie Lynn, Raisinville Baptist Church, Monroe

MISSOURI — Cindy Taylor, Concord Baptist Church, Jefferson City; David Brown, Hillcrest Baptist Church, Lebanon

MISSISSIPPI — Frankie Clark, First Baptist Church, Taylorsville; David Eldridge, Calvary Baptist Church, Tupelo

NORTH CAROLINA — Joel Stephens, Westfield Baptist Church, Westfield; Aaron Wallace, Hephzibah Baptist Church, Wendell

NEW ENGLAND — Sam Coberley, Lake Sunapee Baptist Church, Sunapee, N.H.; Samuel Taylor, Nashua Baptist Church, Nashua, N.H.

NEW MEXICO — Rick Sullivan, First Baptist Church, Artesia; John Torrison, Passage Community Church, Albuquerque

NORTHWEST — Greggery Teel, First Baptist Church, Forks, Wash.; William Taylor, Calvary Baptist Church, Burlington, Wash.

NEVADA — Eddie Hancock, Life Church, Reno; Hoyt Savage, Foothills Baptist Church, Las Vegas

NEW YORK — Bruce Aubrey, Northside Baptist Church, Liverpool; Jonathan Santiago, Iglesia Bautista Transformacion, Syracuse

OHIO — Jim Williford, North Dayton Baptist Church, Dayton; Steve Spurgin, First Baptist Church, Miamisburg

OKLAHAMA — Eddie Lindsey, Oklahoma City Indian Community Church, Oklahoma City; Otis Cayton, Trinity Valley Baptist Church, Valliant

PENNSYLVANIA-SOUTH JERSEY — Joseph Velarde, Riverbend Community Church, Lehigh Valley, Pa.; David Pearson, The Journey, West Chester, Pa.

SOUTH CAROLINA — Peter Beck, Northwood Baptist Church, North Charleston; Rick Martin, Eastview Baptist Church, Rock Hill

TENNESSEE — Cal Hampton, Green River Baptist Church, Waynesboro; Wesley Baldwin, Tusculum Hills Baptist Church, Nashville

TEXAS — Chet Haney, Parkside Baptist Church, Denison; Joe Rivera, Primera Baptist Church, Grand Prairie

UTAH-IDAHO — Jamie Cheramie, Layton Hills Baptist Church, Layton, Utah; Jim Gregory, First Baptist Church, Mountain Home, Id.

VIRGINIA — Timothy Hight, GraceLife Baptist Church, Christiansburg; Stewart McCarter, Southside Baptist Church, Suffolk

WEST VIRGINIA — Matthew Shamblin, North Charleston Baptist Church, Charleston; Maxine Bumgarner, Cross Lanes Baptist Church, Cross Lanes

WYOMING — John Larramendy, Alcova Baptist Church, Casper; David Grace, Trinity Baptist Church, Laramie

    About the Author

  • Staff