News Articles

Miss. messengers adopt 2000 BF&M

Baptist Press file photo

JACKSON, Miss. (BP) — Messengers from among the 2,200 Mississippi Baptist Convention (MBC) member churches unanimously approved adoption of the 2000 Baptist Faith and Message as the doctrinal guidelines for the convention, during the 181st annual meeting of the convention at First Baptist Church, Jackson, Nov. 1-2.

Messengers also elected without opposition Doug Broome, senior pastor of First Baptist Church, Natchez, to a second term as MBC president. He was nominated by Ronnie Falvey, senior pastor of First Baptist Church, Madison.

John Pace, pastor of First Baptist Church, Terry, was nominated for first vice president by Matt Olson, senior pastor of First Baptist Church, Sharon. Pace was elected without opposition. He replaces Gary Wyatt, pastor of North Morton Baptist Church, Morton.

Dan Howard, senior pastor of First Baptist Church, Philadelphia, was nominated for second vice president by Bill Hurt, senior pastor of Pleasant Hill Baptist Church, Columbus. Cosme Arana, pastor of Iglesia Hispana de Clinton, was nominated for second vice president by Richard Viel, pastor of Sandy Hook Baptist Church, Sandy Hook. After a secret ballot, Howard was declared the winner. Vote totals were not released. He replaces Larry Young, pastor of Spangle Banner Missionary Baptist Church, Pace.

Michael Weeks, pastor of Pleasant Hill Baptist Church, Olive Branch, was re-nominated as recording secretary by Greg Warnock, pastor of First Baptist Church, Brookhaven, and president of the Mississippi Baptist Convention Board (MBCB). Weeks was reelected without opposition.

Jerry Bingham, missions director for Benton-Tippah Baptist Association in Ripley, was re-nominated for associate recording secretary by Warnock. Bingham was reelected without opposition.

Messengers approved a 2017 Cooperative Program budget of $31,378,417, a decrease of .46 percent, or $143,588, compared to last year’s CP budget. The portion dedicated to Southern Baptist Convention causes comprises 37.5 percent of the 2017 CP budget.

Any overages to the 2017 CP budget will be divided 50 percent to SBC causes and 50 percent to Christian education, the same Challenge allocations as last year.

Two resolutions were passed by messengers. Resolution No. 1 offered appreciation for the hospitality of host First Baptist Church, Jackson; the convention speakers, singers and instrumentalists; Doug Broome, convention president; and those who have faithfully served the convention.

Resolution No. 2 expressed support for the right of the nation of Israel to “peacefully coexist” and asked for prayers for the country.

Jason K. Allen, president of Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Kansas City, Mo., shared from Bible Treasures series of devotionals. Broome gave the President’s Address. Larry LeBlanc, pastor of First Baptist Church, Summit, gave the convention sermon. Jim Futral, MBCB executive director-treasurer, shared about the convention emphasis.
Jerry Young, pastor of New Hope Baptist Church in Jackson and president of the National Baptist Convention, Inc., gave the closing message.

Leading in worship through music were Derrick Burt, director of music ministries at First Baptist Church, Natchez; Bradley White, worship pastor at First Baptist Church, Summit; Slater Murphy, MBCB director of church music; and Ruthie Sayles, director of music ministry at New Hope Baptist Church, Jackson.

Choirs participating in praise and worship included First Baptist Church, Natchez; First Baptist Church, Yazoo City; Mississippi Singing Churchmen; Sanctuary Choir of First Baptist Church, Summit; First Baptist Church, New Albany; Hillcrest Baptist Church, New Albany; First Baptist Church, Ripley; West Jackson Street Baptist Church, Tupelo; Blue Mountain College Chorale; and New Hope Baptist Church, Jackson.

The committee chose Ronald Meeks, professor of Biblical studies and director of church relations at Blue Mountain College in Blue Mountain, as the 2017 convention preacher, and Tim Mims, pastor of First Baptist Church, Winona, as the alternate preacher.

A total of 830 messengers representing 432 churches registered for the 2016 annual meeting. The messenger count reflected a decrease of six percent, or 52 messengers, when compared to the 2015 attendance figure of 882 registered messengers.

The 2017 annual meeting will be held Oct. 31-Nov. 1 at First Baptist in Jackson.

    About the Author

  • William H. Perkins Jr./The Baptist Record