News Articles

Run-off election for SBC president included three candidates

SBC Registration Secretary Don Currence announces the results of the first ballot vote for SBC president June 11. The results of a runoff ballot will be announced Wednesday morning, June 12.

INDIANAPOLIS (BP) – A forced run-off in the SBC presidential election moved three candidates into a second ballot taken Tuesday (June 11) during the evening session at the Indiana Convention Center.

The candidates in the run-off election are Clint Pressley, senior pastor, Hickory Grove Baptist Church, Charlotte, NC; David Allen, professor and dean at Mid-America Baptist Theological Seminary, Cordova, Tenn.; and Dan Spencer, senior pastor of First Baptist Church, Sevierville, Tenn.

The three candidates that did not move into the second ballot are Bruce Frank, lead pastor of Biltmore Baptist Church, Asheville, N.C.; Mike Keahbone, senior pastor, First Baptist Church, Lawton, Okla.; and Jared Moore, senior pastor, Cumberland Homesteads Baptist Church, Crossville, Tenn.

Of the 8970 votes cast, 15 votes were disallowed.

Here are the results:

  • David Allen received 1,896 votes (21.14 percent)
  • Clint Pressley received 2,289 votes(25.52 percent)
  • Dan Spencer received 1,585 votes  (17.67 percent)
  • Bruce Frank received 1,396 votes (15.56 percent)
  • Mike Keahbone received 868 votes (9.68 percent)
  • Jared Moore received 921 votes (10.27)

A run-off election is required when no candidate receives 50 percent of the vote. The top three candidates combined received 50 percent.

Results of the run-off are expected in the morning session June 12.

    About the Author

  • Marilyn Stewart