News Articles

Barber names registration committee

FARMERSVILLE, Texas (BP)—SBC President Bart Barber announced Friday, May 31, that William Maxwell, administrative director for the Tennessee Baptist Mission Board (TBMB), will chair the Registration Committee for the 2024 SBC Annual Meeting in Indianapolis next month. Maxwell, a member of Brentwood Baptist Church in Brentwood, Tenn., has served with the TBMB for more than 30 years.

The registration committee is called “to supervise the registration of messengers, to oversee the operations of the registration desk, and to rule upon any questions which may arise in registration concerning the credentials of messengers” per SBC Bylaw 8.

“These are the smiling faces who will welcome you to Indianapolis,” said Barber. “They are Southern Baptists like you who want to provide you with everything you need to carry out your duties as messengers.”

Joining Maxwell on the committee are:

  • Zachary Grier, Parkwood Baptist, Gastonia, N.C.
  • Ben Curfman, North Point Chapel, Albion, N.Y.
  • Billy Glover, Steel City Church, Sheffield Lake, Ohio
  • Jess Archer, Riverland Hills Baptist, Irmo, S.C.
  • Brian Sherwood, First Baptist, Darlington, S.C.
  • Jonathan Coleman, Harvey Baptist, Stephenville, Texas
  • Melody Hawks, Hope in the Valley Baptist, Hemet, Cali.
  • Rick Posey, Potosi Southern Baptist, Potosi, Mo.
  • Delton Beall, First Baptist, Yazoo City, Miss.
  • Kristen Svajda, First Baptist, Justin, Texas
  • Riley Prather, Green Valley Crossing, Putnam, Conn.
  • Russ Ponder, First Baptist, Hamlin, Texas
  • Amber Mathis, Christ Fellowship Cherrydale, Greenville, S.C.
  • Victoria Awbrey, Tremont Baptist, Tremont, Ill.

The committee consists of five women, 11 men, 15 white/Anglos, and 1 African American.

    About the Author

  • BP Staff